Boats

Sign in
All boats

2013 Beneteau Oceanis 37 "Grey Goose", Emeryville, CA 94608

8/21
2013 Beneteau Oceanis 37 "Grey Goose"View listing

Ability analysis

Everything below is costed to cross the Pacific.

Specifications

All-in, cruising

—

not analysed

All-in, offshore

$222k–$241k

offer + full refit

Length

37.58 ft

Draft

6.23 ft

Capability

5.3 · 5.3

cruising · offshore, of 10

Capability is scored for both standards from the same design research, re-weighted. The money is not: a coastal refit has to be costed on its own, which is why it can read “not analysed” above while the score beside it is real.

24 of 24 systems still unexamined, carrying $20k of reserve.

That figure falls as you inspect — it shrinks because you did the diligence, not because you got optimistic. A system with no assessment counts as unexamined and carries its full allowance.

Systems assessed0%

Identified risks (14)

Discrete events, kept out of the cost ranges so they stay visible and can be retired once you have looked.

  • Chainplate or hidden deck-level crevice corrosion found when rigging is replaced

    $3k–$25k

    20% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from 15-year rig age, balsa-cored deck and no chainplate inspection record. This is not a finding on Grey Goose.

    Beneteau Oceanis 37 Inventory List“Deck in balsa and glass fibre sandwich”

  • Wet balsa core around stanchions, genoa tracks, clutches, windlass or deck penetrations

    $2k–$30k

    25% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from balsa deck construction, age at departure and unknown rebedding history; no listing defect is stated.

    Sailing Magazine review“Build rock solid fiberglass hulls with balsa-cored decks”

  • Grounding damage, active keel smile or sump/floor cracking found at haul survey

    $3k–$45k

    12% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from external fin keel with stainless-backed bolts and unknown grounding history. No problem is reported.

    Beneteau Oceanis 37 Inventory List“Cast iron keel fixed with bolts and stainless steel backing plates”

  • Rudder bearing wear or blade water intrusion requires drop and repair

    $2k–$18k

    18% likelyexpected $1kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from 15-year age and spade/hung rudder; listing does not state play or impact.

    Beneteau Oceanis 37 Inventory List“Hung rudder with stainless steel stock”

  • Yanmar 3YM30 cannot reach rated RPM, overheats, smokes or shows cooling/exhaust corrosion under load

    $2k–$25k

    18% likelyexpected $1kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from missing engine hours and limited service detail; recent basic service is positive but not a load-test result.

    Boat Trader listing“Engine Hours -”

  • Cutless bearing, prop damage, alignment or shaft wear despite 2024 shaft-seal replacement

    $1k–$12k

    15% likelyexpected $600inferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from shaft-drive age and unknown vibration/prop/cutless condition; shaft seal replacement does not prove the whole drivetrain is sound.

    Boat Trader listing“Replace prop shaft seal”

  • Multiple original seacocks are seized, unsupported or wrong material and require replacement

    $3k–$15k

    18% likelyexpected $1kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from age and missing material/operation details; 2024 inspection lowers but does not eliminate risk.

    Boat Trader listing“Thru-hull inspection”

  • AIS is receive-only, radar is obsolete/magnetron weak, or chartplotter/network is unsupported

    $2k–$18k

    30% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from broad checkmark listing without model years and likely 2013 Simrad/B&G generation.

    Boat Trader listing“Radar:✓ ... AIS:✓”

  • Existing autopilot is undersized, wheel-only, obsolete or cannot steer loaded offshore

    $3k–$15k

    35% likelyexpected $3kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from listing's generic 'Autopilot' checkmark and no drive identification. A control head is not proof of a robust below-decks pilot.

    Boat Trader listing“Autopilot:✓”

  • 2022 mainsail invoice was for in-mast/furling compromise sail or fit issues cause poor reefing reliability

    $500–$9k

    12% likelyexpected $360inferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from in-mast furling configuration and modest listed mainsail invoice; no defect is stated.

    Boat Trader listing“New Mainsail Quantum Sails $3,382.73”

  • Freshwater leak, odor-permeated sanitation hose or failing water heater requires broader plumbing work

    $2k–$12k

    25% likelyexpected $1kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from 15-year plumbing age and no service detail. Manufacturer lists water heater, holding tank and multiple pumps.

    Beneteau Oceanis 37 Inventory List“1 25 L / 7 US Gal Electric water heater”

  • Multiple hatches/ports need reglazing or rebedding rather than simple gasket service

    $3k–$15k

    20% likelyexpected $1kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from 15-year PMMA/acrylic openings and no leak history; not a listing defect.

    Beneteau Oceanis 37 Inventory List“1 Opening deck hatch with curtain”

  • Fuel contamination or inaccessible sludge causes engine starvation under load

    $800–$9k

    15% likelyexpected $450inferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from unknown fuel age and tank-cleaning history. Poly tank lowers corrosion risk but not contamination risk.

    Beneteau Oceanis 37 Inventory List“Filters: Sea water - Diesel - Decanter”

  • Bottom job masked osmotic blistering or prior impact repair

    $3k–$35k

    8% likelyexpected $1kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from any freshly bottom-painted used hull: antifouling can reduce visual information. Monolithic hull and recent yard invoice reduce risk.

    Boat Trader listing“Bottom Job”

Systems to check (24)

  • Standing rigginglisting only

    Listing documents 2025 spreader replacement, VHF antenna replacement and rig re-tune but not standing wire or terminal replacement. Treat rigging age as unknown/original until invoices prove otherwise. inferred

    Boat Trader listing“Rig Re-tuned”

  • Mast, boom and fittingslisting only

    Sparcraft boom car replaced in 2024; upper and lower spreaders replaced in 2025. Reason for spreader replacement is not given.

    Boat Trader listing“New Boom Car”

  • Running rigginglisting only

    Listing says all lines lead aft, but gives no age or condition for halyards, sheets, furling lines or reefing lines. inferred

    Boat Trader listing“All lines leading aft”

  • Sailslisting only

    Furling mainsail and furling genoa listed; mainsail replaced by Quantum in 2022 for $3,382.73. Genoa age omitted.

    Boat Trader listing“10/20/2022 New Mainsail”

  • Enginelisting only

    Yanmar 3YM30, 2012, 30 hp. Listing gives no engine hours. A $882.75 engine service is listed on 2/20/2026.

    Boat Trader listing“Engine Model:Yanmar 3YM30”

  • Shaft, coupling, prop, stern glandlisting only

    Prop shaft seal replaced in 2024. Listing does not state cutless bearing, shaft alignment, prop condition or transmission service. inferred

    Boat Trader listing“Replace prop shaft seal”

  • Fuel tanks and systemlisting only

    34 gal fuel capacity. No tank cleaning, hose age, fuel filter configuration or fuel-polishing history listed. inferred

    Boat Trader listing“Fuel Tanks:34gal”

  • Electrical, AC and DClisting only

    Shore power inlet, inverter, battery charger, new starter battery in 2024 and new house bank in 2023 are listed; no capacity, chemistry, alternator, regulator or wiring-standard information.

    boats.com mirror listing“Shore power inlet; Inverter”

  • Battery banklisting only

    Starter battery replaced 2024; house battery bank replaced 2023 for $376.23. This is not evidence of 600Ah LiFePO4 capacity and does not zero the catalogue capacity item.

    Boat Trader listing“New House Battery Bank”

  • Steering gearlisting only

    Wheel steering listed; Beneteau spec describes cable transmission. Cable age, quadrant inspection and emergency tiller are not documented. inferred

    Beneteau Oceanis 37 specification“metal cable transmission system”

  • Autopilot and self-steeringlisting only

    Autopilot is listed, but make, model, drive type, age and serviceability are omitted. Not marked aboard for the Raymarine EV-200 catalogue line.

  • Hull and laminatelisting only

    Fiberglass monohull; bottom job completed 11/18/2024. Manufacturer spec says monolithic polyester hull and bonded structural counter moulding.

    Beneteau Oceanis 37 specification“Monolithic hull design in polyester”

  • Keel and keel boltslisting only

    Deep fin keel inferred from listing max draft and manufacturer deep-draft option; listing also shows min draft, which is confusing. No grounding or keel-bolt history. inferred

    Boat Trader listing“Max Draft:6.17ft”

    Beneteau Oceanis 37 specification“Deep draught 1,90 m 6’3’’”

  • Rudder and bearingslisting only

    Model has fin keel with spade/hung rudder and stainless stock. Listing gives no bearing, moisture or rudder-stock inspection. inferred

    SailboatData Oceanis 37“Fin w/spade rudder”

  • Deck, hardware and hull–deck jointlisting only

    Manufacturer spec says balsa/glass sandwich deck, double guardrails, stanchions, genoa tracks, clutches and winches. Listing does not document rebedding or core moisture. inferred

    Beneteau Oceanis 37 specification“Deck in balsa and glass fibre sandwich”

  • Through-hulls and seacockslisting only

    Thru-hull inspection was part of the 2024 Spaulding invoice. No valve list, material, operation report or replacement history is listed.

    Boat Trader listing“Thru-hull inspection”

  • Plumbing, water tanks and headslisting only

    91 gal freshwater, hot water, marine head, refrigerator, electric bilge pump and manual bilge pump listed. No hose, pump, tank or holding-tank details.

    Boat Trader listing“Fresh Water Tanks:91gal”

  • Ground tackle and windlasslisting only

    Electric windlass listed and marked already aboard, but make/model/gypsy size, anchor, chain and rode are not listed.

    Boat Trader listing“Windlass:electric-windlass”

  • Safety equipmentlisting only

    Listing says liferaft and coastal/bay safety gear. It does not give service date, capacity, offshore rating or inventory, so offshore safety catalogue lines remain.

    Boat Trader listing“safety equipment needed for bay and or coastal sailing”

  • Electronics and navigationlisting only

    Radar, plotter/GPS, depth, speed, wind, VHF and AIS listed. Radar, chartplotter and instrument pack are marked already aboard, but models and serviceability are unknown.

    boats.com mirror listing“Depthsounder; Radar; Log-speedometer”

  • Canvas, dodger and coverslisting only

    New dodger by The Canvas Works in 2023 for $5,072.10. No canvas defect listed.

    Boat Trader listing“New Dodger”

  • Windows, hatches and portslisting only

    Manufacturer lists multiple opening hatches and portlights plus PMMA companionway hatch/door. Listing does not mention leaks, crazing, gasket replacement or hatch service. inferred

    Beneteau Oceanis 37 Inventory List“Companionway hatch and door in PMMA”

  • Dinghy and outboardlisting only

    No dinghy, outboard, davits, chocks or lifting tackle are listed. Leave generic dinghy/outboard catalogue lines in place.

    Boat Trader listing“Outside Equipment Electric Winch:✓ Liferaft:✓ Cockpit Cushions:✓ Cockpit Table:✓ Swimming Ladder:✓”

  • Interior and sea berthslisting only

    Three-cabin, one-head layout; listing emphasizes open, bright accommodation and storage. No offshore sea-berth or positive-latch preparation is stated. inferred

    Boat Trader listing“3 cabins”