Boats

Sign in
All boats

1995 Valiant 42 "ENDEAVOR", Alameda, CA

20/21
1995 Valiant 42 "ENDEAVOR"View listing

Ability analysis

Everything below is costed to cross the Pacific.

A Offshore run finished but costed no work on this hull, so the money below is withheld rather than estimated. That is a failed run, not a clean boat — re-run it and check why the first came back empty.

Specifications

All-in, cruising

—

not analysed

All-in, offshore

—

run produced nothing

Length

42 ft

Draft

6 ft

Capability

7.1 · 7.1

cruising · offshore, of 10

Capability is scored for both standards from the same design research, re-weighted. The money is not: a coastal refit has to be costed on its own, which is why it can read “not analysed” above while the score beside it is real.

24 of 24 systems still unexamined, carrying $29k of reserve.

That figure falls as you inspect — it shrinks because you did the diligence, not because you got optimistic. A system with no assessment counts as unexamined and carries its full allowance.

Systems assessed0%

Identified risks (3)

Discrete events, kept out of the cost ranges so they stay visible and can be retired once you have looked.

  • Westerbeke 44B needs major overhaul or repower before Brisbane

    $18k–$55k

    12% likelyexpected $5kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Conditional risk, not a present defect: the engine is 31 years old with 2,712 stated hours and no rebuild, compression or oil-analysis record in the listing. A surveyor reports that many original Valiant 42 engines have eventually been rebuilt or replaced, while Westerbeke still documents and supplies this model. Age and hours justify inspection and a residual risk, not assumed repower.

    SpinSheet Valiant 42 surveyor review“have been replaced or rebuilt”

    Westerbeke 44B Four support page“This model is no longer in production.”

  • Scheduled Westerbeke service is overdue if invoices do not show the 500-hour/five-year and 1,000-hour/five-year work

    $2k–$9k

    50% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Conditional risk, not a present defect: the engine has 2,712 stated hours and Westerbeke specifies recurring 500-hour/five-year and 1,000-hour/five-year work, but the listing provides no service chronology. Records or the engine inspection may retire the risk completely.

    Westerbeke Operator's Manual 044180“EVERY 1000 OPERATING HOURS OR EVERY FIVE YEARS”

  • Aluminum fuel-tank corrosion or failure of 2025 internal treatment/coating

    $3k–$15k

    12% likelyexpected $900inferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Conditional hull-specific risk, not a found defect: this boat's tanks were cleaned, inspected, treated and internally painted in October 2025. The work may prove the tanks sound; the risk remains only because the report, wall-thickness findings, coating system and warranty are not yet available.

    SYS Yacht Sales syndicated listing“Fuel Tanks Cleaned, Inspected, Treated”

Systems to check (24)

  • Standing rigginglisting only

    Listing states new rod rigging and Navtec fittings installed by CSR in April 2026 from rod supplied by Port Townsend Rigging, plus a new bobstay. No invoices, rod schedule, cold-head records, tuning report or buyer-side inspection has been seen.

    West Coast Yachts listing“NEW (April 2026) rod rigging”

  • Mast, boom and fittingslisting only

    Keel-stepped double-spreader mast with internal halyards, Tides Strong Track, Navtec hydraulic backstay and new Forespar whisker pole. Mast age, corrosion, step condition, wiring and sheave service are not stated.

    boats.com listing“Double spreader keel stepped mast”

  • Running rigginglisting only

    Listing states new halyards, pole lift, topping lift/preventer and dual preventer lines from Ballard Sails in May 2026. Sheets, furling lines, traveler control, spare halyard and chafe inventory are not fully described.

    West Coast Yachts listing“NEW running rigging”

  • Sailslisting only

    Ballard Sails mainsail with three reefs, genoa and staysail are stated new in May 2026. An older 1.5oz tri-radial asymmetric was inspected in May 2026. No storm sail, cloth specification, sail dimensions or invoices are provided.

    YachtWorld listing“NEW Mainsail with three reef points”

  • Enginelisting only

    Westerbeke 44B, 44hp, 2,712 hours. Listing notes remote oil filter, electric oil-change pump and 2014 Admiral panel, but gives no service/rebuild chronology. Manufacturer still provides manuals, bulletins and parts listings for this discontinued model.

    Westerbeke 44B Four“parts information and technical documents”

  • Shaft, coupling, prop, stern glandlisting only

    V-drive shaft installation with PYI dripless seal and new 18in three-blade MaxProp Easy in June 2026. Exact transmission, shaft/seal age, cutless bearing, alignment and service history are omitted.

    SYS Yacht Sales listing“Type Inboard”

  • Fuel tanks and systemlisting only

    Two aluminum fuel tanks are stated as cleaned, inspected, treated and internally painted by Petroclear in October 2025. Coating product, corrosion measurements, invoices and warranty are absent. Listed total capacity is 90gal versus 77gal standard with optional tankage available.

    Valiant 42 specification“Tankage Fuel 77 gals.”

  • Electrical, AC and DClisting only

    Valiant AC/DC panel, 30A shore power, Magnum MS2812 inverter/charger, Balmar Digital Duo combiner, 100A heavy-frame alternator, new lighting and Starlink DC converter are listed. Solar, MPPTs, battery monitor, alternator make/model/regulation, schematics and ABYC inspection are omitted.

    YachtWorld listing“Magnum Energy MS2812”

  • Battery banklisting only

    Four Lifeline GPL-27T house batteries and one Lifeline GPL-2700T start battery are listed; the printed house-bank date 'March 204' is ambiguous and capacity/test data are absent. This is not the catalogue's 600Ah LiFePO4 bank.

    West Coast Yachts listing“Lifeline GPL-27T”

  • Steering gearlisting only

    Edson pedestal and a new chain-and-wire kit are listed; the pedestal was refinished in 2007. Emergency tiller, quadrant/radial-drive inspection, rudder stops and exact windvane steering connection are not described.

    West Coast Yachts listing“New Chain & Wire Kit”

  • Autopilot and self-steeringlisting only

    Simrad AC42 course computer and helm control are named. Drive unit, heading sensor, rudder feedback age, commissioning, network compatibility and spare drive are omitted. The listing separately claims windvane steering without naming the unit.

    YachtWorld listing“Simrad AC42 Autopilot Course Computer”

  • Hull and laminatenot looked at

    Model construction is a one-piece solid fiberglass hull using isophthalic resin; the 1995 Valiant 42 is outside the 1976-1981 Valiant 40 fire-retardant-resin blister cohort. No hull survey, impact/repair history or laminate moisture findings for this hull are supplied.

    SpinSheet Valiant 42 review“excluding all of the V42s”

  • Keel and keel boltsnot looked at

    Standard 6ft external lead fin keel, model-spec bedded with 3M 5200 and secured by seventeen stainless J-bolts/backing plates. This hull's grounding history, bolt condition and keel-stub condition are not stated.

    Valiant 42 construction specification“External mounted lead ballast”

  • Rudder and bearingsnot looked at

    Model uses a skeg-hung fiberglass rudder with solid stainless shaft/internal steel core. No bearing play, moisture, skeg joint, repair or grounding information is supplied for this hull.

    Valiant 42 model record“rudder on skeg”

  • Deck, hardware and hull–deck jointlisting only

    New 2026 lifelines, oversized Lewmar Ocean winches, stainless pulpits, bulwark-mounted stanchions, aluminum toerail, dual bow roller and arch are listed. Winch service, chainplate rebedding, deck backing and core moisture are not documented.

    West Coast Yachts listing“NEW lifelines”

  • Through-hulls and seacocksnot looked at

    Listing is silent on through-hull material, seacock type/age, hose age, double clamps and operability.

  • Plumbing, water tanks and headslisting only

    Listing states 90gal fresh water, hot/cold pressure water, foot pump, 6gal engine/AC water heater and 2013 Shur-Flo pump with spare. Water-tank and holding-tank material/condition, sanitation hoses, manual bilge-pump arrangement and watermaker are not identified.

    West Coast Yachts listing“Fresh water tanks 90 gallon”

  • Ground tackle and windlasslisting only

    Lighthouse 1501 windlass; 45lb CQR with 300ft HT chain re-galvanized in 2012; Fortress FX-23 secondary; and Danforth stern anchor are listed. Primary-chain diameter/condition and windlass service/load test are absent. The CQR does not zero the catalogue's Rocna line.

    YachtWorld listing“300' of HT chain”

  • Safety equipmentlisting only

    New six-person deck-mounted Datrex liferaft, new ACR GlobalFix EPIRB with AIS, Lifesling, MOM8-A, horseshoe buoy, Galerider drogue and portable emergency bilge pump are listed. Exact raft/EPIRB models and expiries, fire gear, PLBs, jacklines/tethers, storm sails, JSD, medical kit and emergency boarding ladder are not established.

    West Coast Yachts listing“New Datrex 6 person”

  • Electronics and navigationlisting only

    New B&G helm/nav plotters, Halo radar, ICOM fixed/handheld VHF and NavPod are listed with B&G Triton instruments, Simrad Class B AIS and rudder display. Exact model years, invoices, antenna/coax, NMEA topology, charts, software and offshore commissioning are not given. Class B AIS does not zero the catalogue's B+ unit.

    YachtWorld listing“NEW B&G Halo”

  • Canvas, dodger and coverslisting only

    New 2026 bimini canvas and three-sided hard-dodger enclosure are listed, plus 2025 mainsail pack. Foredeck awning is not identified.

    YachtWorld listing“New Bimini Canvas 2026”

  • Windows, hatches and portslisting only

    Twelve stainless Hood opening ports and six Lewmar Ocean overhead hatches are listed. Lens, gasket and rebedding age and leak history are omitted.

    boats.com listing“Lewmar Ocean Series overhead hatches”

  • Dinghy and outboardnot looked at

    No dinghy, outboard, davits, foredeck chocks or lifting tackle is described.

  • Interior and sea berthslisting only

    Center-entry two-cabin arrangement with aft head/separate shower, American cherry joinery, solid-over-plywood teak-and-holly sole, 12V refrigeration, LPG stove/oven and microwave. Listing calls the interior very nice but gives no upholstery age, sea-berth lee cloths, LPG certification or refrigeration test.

    boats.com listing“Center Entry arrangement”