Boats

Sign in
All boats

2002 Caliber 40 LRC "HARRIET TUBMAN", Anacortes, WA 98221

17/21
2002 Caliber 40 LRC "HARRIET TUBMAN"View listing

Ability analysis

Everything below is costed to cross the Pacific.

Specifications

All-in, cruising

—

not analysed

All-in, offshore

$250k–$267k

offer + full refit

Length

40.92 ft

Draft

5.08 ft

Capability

7.2 · 7.2

cruising · offshore, of 10

Capability is scored for both standards from the same design research, re-weighted. The money is not: a coastal refit has to be costed on its own, which is why it can read “not analysed” above while the score beside it is real.

24 of 24 systems still unexamined, carrying $25k of reserve.

That figure falls as you inspect — it shrinks because you did the diligence, not because you got optimistic. A system with no assessment counts as unexamined and carries its full allowance.

Systems assessed0%

Identified risks (8)

Discrete events, kept out of the cost ranges so they stay visible and can be retired once you have looked.

  • Integral holding-tank or collision-bulkhead delamination from blocked vent

    $8k–$70k

    25% likelyexpected $6kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding on Harriet Tubman: multiple sistership failures are documented, the holding tank forms part of the forward structure, and the hull manual warns of burst risk; actual probability depends on inspection and history.

    Caliber 40 LRC Used Boat Review“tank split away from the hull”

  • Deck-core or bulkhead damage around chainplate penetrations

    $3k–$35k

    30% likelyexpected $3kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from a documented 1997 sistership leak and unknown production-change timing; this 2002 hull may have the later improved detail, so this is a survey target rather than a finding.

    Chainplate Rebedding on a 1997 Caliber 40LRC“evidence of a leak around the forward port chainplate”

  • Major engine cooling, exhaust, injection or internal repair

    $4k–$32k

    25% likelyexpected $4kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning from 2,874 charter-context hours, 24 years of age and absent service records; hours alone do not condemn a maintained Yanmar.

    2002 Caliber 40 listing“Engine Hours 2874”

  • Kanzaki transmission, shaft, cutless bearing or stuffing-box overhaul

    $2k–$16k

    30% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: The model uses a conventional Yanmar/Kanzaki shaft drive, but the listing gives no transmission model, service history, vibration report, shaft-seal age or bearing clearances.

    Used Sailboat Review - Caliber 40“Kanzaki mechanical transmissions”

  • Rudder moisture, stock weld or three-bearing system repair

    $4k–$28k

    18% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: The skeg-supported three-point system is robust, but this is a 24-year-old charter hull with no rudder inspection or grounding history in the listing.

  • Hidden grounding damage to encapsulated ballast or structural grid

    $3k–$45k

    12% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Encapsulated ballast eliminates external keel-bolt risk but makes impact history and laminate condition decisive; charter grounding history is undisclosed.

  • Age-related hatch, portlight and deck-penetration leaks

    $2k–$18k

    35% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: The model has numerous opening ports and hatches, the hull is 24 years old, and the listing states no rebedding or replacement history; no active leak is asserted.

  • Hidden charter-use wear or prior damage not represented in the listing

    $2k–$25k

    40% likelyexpected $3kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Harriet Tubman is still marketed for bareboat charter in 2026. Fleet maintenance can be systematic, but repeated novice use increases cosmetic, hardware and systems wear uncertainty.

    Harriet Tubman - Anacortes Yacht Charters“2026 Seasonal Rates”

Systems to check (24)

  • Standing rigginglisting only

    Keel-stepped Selden mast and cutter-capable rig are documented at model/listing level, but wire, terminal, furler and chainplate ages are completely omitted. Budget replacement unless invoices and a rigger establish adequate offshore life. inferred

  • Mast, boom and fittingslisting only

    Model review identifies an untapered single-spreader Selden mast; the listing confirms keel stepping. No mast, boom, gooseneck, sheave, corrosion or prior unstepping history is supplied.

  • Running rigginglisting only

    Halyards, sheets, two cockpit-led single-line reefs, traveler controls, rigid vang, lazy jacks and ProFurl headsail furling are documented. Ages and condition are absent; the hull manual notes line-fraying at sheet stoppers.

  • Sailslisting only

    Listing states a fully battened mainsail with three reef points, 130% furling jib and spinnaker rigging; the hull manual describes only first and second cockpit reef operation. Sailmaker, cloth, build dates, recuts, UV-cover age, staysail and spinnaker inclusion/condition are unstated.

    2002 Caliber 40 listing“battened main with 3 reef points”

  • Enginelisting only

    Yanmar diesel, 50hp listing rating, 2,874 hours and 2002 engine year are stated. Model references indicate a normally aspirated 4JH3E/4JH3(B)E rated about 56hp, but the exact nameplate, serial number and maintenance history are not supplied. Yanmar has a service/parts distributor in Papeete; common consumables remain obtainable, although model-specific legacy parts should be carried. inferred

    Yanmar Dealer - Papeete“Sales Service Parts”

  • Shaft, coupling, prop, stern glandlisting only

    Hull manual confirms a reversible transmission, shaft drive and two-bladed fixed propeller, with pronounced port prop walk in reverse. Transmission model, oil history, shaft-seal type/age, cutless-bearing clearance, alignment and propeller condition are unknown.

  • Fuel tanks and systemlisting only

    Two 106gal fuel tanks, separate fillers, individual Racor filters and independent supply/return manifolds are confirmed. Fuel tank material and contamination history are not supplied; the hull manual warns that fuel and water fills are adjacent and should not be serviced simultaneously.

  • Electrical, AC and DClisting only

    12V DC/110V AC distribution, high-output alternator, multistage smart regulator, ProSine inverter/charger, shore power and a monitoring display are documented. Exact alternator/regulator output, inverter model, wiring condition, overcurrent protection, galvanic isolation and upgrade dates are absent; the manual's repeated conservation warnings imply a small legacy house bank. inferred

  • Battery banklisting only

    Separate wet-cell house and start batteries are documented, but chemistry beyond wet-cell, count, capacity, brand, installation date and test results are not given. Do not credit the central 600Ah LiFePO4 line.

  • Steering gearlisting only

    Wheel steering, skeg-supported rudder and an emergency tiller in the port cockpit locker are documented. Cable/chain condition, quadrant, pedestal service, rudder play and whether the emergency tiller can be installed under way are unknown.

    Harriet Tubman 2025 Inventory“1 Emergency Tiller”

  • Autopilot and self-steeringnot looked at

    No autopilot is identified in the listing, charter page, hull manual or inventory. Raymarine navigation displays are not evidence of a drive, course computer or adequate offshore steering system, so no catalogue credit is given. inferred

  • Hull and laminatelisting only

    Model sources describe a solid hand-laid fiberglass hull with vinylester skin, integrated strength grid, reinforced impact zones, bonded bulkheads and a watertight forward bulkhead. Current San Juan/Gulf Islands charter operation establishes saltwater use, but no prior survey, moisture readings, blister history, collision, grounding or laminate repair record is provided for this hull.

    The Caliber 40 LRC“among the best of production fiberglass boat builders”

  • Keel and keel boltslisting only

    The long NACA-section cruising fin is molded with the hull and has encapsulated iron/concrete ballast, eliminating external keel bolts. This shifts diligence to impact damage, moisture, internal grid/tabbing and repair history, none of which the listing addresses. inferred

  • Rudder and bearingslisting only

    Model construction uses a molded fiberglass rudder, stainless structure/stock, full skeg and three supports. The design is strongly protected for offshore use, but this hull's moisture, welds, bearings, stuffing box, skeg shoe and grounding history are unknown. inferred

  • Deck, hardware and hull–deck jointlisting only

    Model sources document plywood-cored deck, through-bolted chainplates, aluminum toerail, double lifelines, Lewmar winches and a strong bonded/bolted hull-deck joint. A 1997 sistership documents leakage at chainplate slots and unsealed bulkhead tops, but Caliber later altered the detail; applicability to this 2002 hull is unresolved. inferred

    Chainplate Rebedding on a 1997 Caliber 40LRC“never sealed the top of the bulkheads”

  • Through-hulls and seacockslisting only

    The hull manual identifies engine intake, head, sink and gravity-discharge through-hulls and confirms routine operation. Materials, count, age, bonding, hose dates, double-clamping and exercise history are not provided.

  • Plumbing, water tanks and headslisting only

    Two 106gal fuel tanks and two freshwater tanks totaling 179gal are hull-specifically confirmed. The freshwater level gauge is documented as failed. Holding capacity conflicts sharply: sales listing 20gal, hull manual about 40gal, model review 110gal. The model has a sourced blocked-vent failure mode capable of cracking/delaminating the integral holding tank/hull structure.

  • Ground tackle and windlasslisting only

    Hull manual reports a 45lb CQR, 300ft chain, snubber, electric windlass with bow foot switches and spare rode. The 2025 inventory instead records a 44kg plow anchor and a 30kg Danforth, likely data-entry errors. The CQR does not satisfy the central Rocna 25kg specification, and chain diameter/grade/condition are unknown. inferred

  • Safety equipmentlisting only

    Charter inventory includes lifejackets, jacklines, four extinguishers, flares, first-aid kit, Lifesling/ring, horns, reflector, wood plugs and flashlights. It does not establish offshore ratings, dates, harnesses, AIS-MOB, PLBs, EPIRB, liferaft, danbuoy or the central catalogue's exact products, so only the reflector is credited.

    Harriet Tubman 2025 Inventory“1 Radar Reflector”

  • Electronics and navigationlisting only

    Fixed VHF, depth sounder and paired helm/nav Raymarine HybridTouch plotter/radar displays are documented; the hull manual calls them Raytheon, suggesting legacy equipment or stale documentation. Exact models, ages, transducers, radar technology, charts, AIS, wind/speed instruments, NMEA network and autopilot are not disclosed. No radar catalogue credit is given because solid-state technology is unproven. inferred

    2002 Caliber 40 listing“Raymarine package with Hybrid Touch GPS”

  • Canvas, dodger and coverslisting only

    The 2025 inventory confirms bimini, dodger, mainsail cover, wheel/binnacle cover and instrument covers. Fabric, window clarity, stitching, waterproofing, frame condition and build dates are unknown; no foredeck awning is listed.

  • Windows, hatches and portsnot looked at

    The listing does not discuss leaks, crazing, seals, lens replacement or rebedding. The model has numerous opening ports and hatches, making a hose test and deck moisture survey material at 24 years. inferred

  • Dinghy and outboardlisting only

    A 10ft Achilles RIB and Honda 2.3hp outboard are stated, and the hull manual describes towing rather than offshore deck stowage. Dinghy model/fabric/age and outboard hours/service are unknown; 2.3hp is not a substitute for the centrally specified 9.9-15hp unit.

    2002 Caliber 40 listing“10' Achilles sport boat”

  • Interior and sea berthslisting only

    Two cabins, two heads, separate shower, teak joinery, Force 10 two-burner stove/oven, 12V refrigeration, 10gal water heater and ProSine-supplied outlets are documented. The boat remains in bareboat charter service; upholstery, sole, cabinetry, LPG certification, refrigeration model/condition, tank odors and sea-berth arrangements are not disclosed. inferred