Boats

Sign in
All boats

2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 (unnamed in listing), San Diego, CA 92101

10/21
2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 (unnamed in listing)View listing

Ability analysis

Everything below is costed to cross the Pacific.

Specifications

All-in, cruising

—

not analysed

All-in, offshore

$263k

offer + full refit

Length

43.33 ft

Draft

6.5 ft

Capability

5.5 · 5.6

cruising · offshore, of 10

Capability is scored for both standards from the same design research, re-weighted. The money is not: a coastal refit has to be costed on its own, which is why it can read “not analysed” above while the score beside it is real.

24 of 24 systems still unexamined, carrying $23k of reserve.

That figure falls as you inspect — it shrinks because you did the diligence, not because you got optimistic. A system with no assessment counts as unexamined and carries its full allowance.

Systems assessed0%

Identified risks (13)

Discrete events, kept out of the cost ranges so they stay visible and can be retired once you have looked.

  • Chainplate backing rot or chainplate corrosion — original is bolts through wood backed with washers

    $3k–$18k

    30% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding. Practical Sailor's contemporaneous review records deck hardware as 'bolted through wood and backed with washers' and solid wood beds under cleats, winches and chainplates. Wood beds under deck hardware are fine while they stay dry and are a rot problem once a fitting leaks, and washers concentrate load where a backing plate would spread it. Twenty-four years of deck leaks is the mechanism. What raises this above background for this particular boat is that new standing rigging was fitted in January 2026 — if the rigger reused the original chainplates and tangs without pulling and inspecting them, the boat now has new wire on old attachments, which is the worst of both worlds. Probability is my judgement, not a published rate; it collapses to near zero or to the high end on one rigger's inspection.

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“bolted through wood and backed with washers”

  • Hull-deck joint working or leaking — Sikaflex and self-tapping screws, not through-bolted

    $2k–$15k

    30% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and it is about the design rather than about this boat's condition. Practical Sailor described the joint as the deck flange bonded on top of the hull with Sikaflex and self-tapping screws at 10cm centres under a toerail, and said plainly that they still think such joints should be through-bolted. That construction is entirely normal for a 2001 production boat and thousands of them have crossed oceans; it is also the joint that takes rig and grounding loads and that leaks first. Twenty-four years and a hard downwind passage is the stress case. Probability is my estimate of finding some evidence of a working or weeping joint at survey, not a published failure rate. The high end assumes a section of joint has to be opened, cleaned and rebedded or through-bolted.

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“the deck flange bonds atop the hull with Sikaflex and self-tapping screws at 10-cm centers”

  • Balsa deck core saturation around fittings and hatch frames

    $3k–$20k

    28% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding. Both contemporaneous reviews record a balsa-cored deck: Kretschmer describes hand-placed end-grain balsa on the underside of the deck mould, Practical Sailor describes discontinuous balsa blocks encapsulated in hand-laid cloth with solid wood beds in high-load areas. The 'discontinuous' part matters and is why I have set this slightly below the equivalent risk on your Beneteau candidate — discrete blocks limit how far water travels once it gets in, and solid wood under the highest-load fittings removes the worst penetrations from the core entirely. Against that, the boat is 24 years old, no rebedding of any deck fitting appears anywhere in the maintenance history, and a bilge heater was fitted in 2020. Probability is judgement.

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“discontinuous balsa blocks encapsulated in hand-laid layers of fiber cloth”

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Sailing Magazine (John Kretschmer)“The deck features a balsa core with "end-grain balsa" blocks hand-placed on the underside”

  • Cast iron keel corrosion at the joint, or keel bolt corrosion requiring a keel drop

    $2k–$18k

    28% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding. Kretschmer records the keel as an externally-fastened epoxy-coated iron keel. Cast iron ages worse than lead in this application: where a lead keel that weeps at the joint is usually a bedding problem, an iron keel that weeps is often also a corrosion problem, and the bolts are in a wet pocket at the top of a rusting casting. Grounding history is unknown and San Diego is not a soft-bottom harbour. Probability reflects that most boats are fine and the ones that are not are expensive. The high end assumes dropping the keel, re-facing both surfaces, re-bedding and re-torquing, which needs the rig out.

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Sailing Magazine (John Kretschmer)“externally fastened epoxy-coated iron keel”

  • Spade rudder bearing failure or blade core saturation

    $2k–$14k

    25% likelyexpected $1kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and deliberately kept separate from the steering cost item: that item prices servicing what is there, this one prices discovering the blade is wet or the stock has corroded inside it. Practical Sailor notes a triangular collar providing additional support at the rudder, which is a better arrangement than a bare bearing but is still an internally-mounted spade with no skeg. Rudder bearing wear is a recurring theme across the Sun Odyssey range on owners' forums, though I could not open the Jeanneau owners' forum threads directly — the site requires JavaScript — so I am recording that as a search result rather than as evidence I have read. Probability is judgement.

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“a triangular shaped collar provides additional support”

    Sun Odyssey 43 — Wikipedia“internally mounted spade-type, controlled by dual wheels”

  • The January 2026 rigging job was partial, or done to a lower specification than an ocean passage needs

    $1k–$14k

    22% likelyexpected $990inferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and the counterpart of the biggest positive in this file. 'All Standing Rigging replaced in January 2026' is a broker's sentence, not an invoice. The things it does not say are the expensive ones: whether the mast was unstepped, whether chainplates, tangs, toggles and turnbuckles were replaced or reused, whether the wire is 316 to the original diameter or something cheaper, whether the ProFurl furler was stripped and its foil inspected while the forestay was out, and who did it. A rig replaced eight months before sale is also worth a moment's thought about why: it is either an owner preparing the boat properly, or an owner spending the minimum to make a boat saleable. Probability is my estimate that at least one significant element was left out.

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“All Standing Rigging replaced in January 2026”

  • Turbocharger failure or exhaust-side corrosion on a lightly-used 4JH3-TE

    $2k–$9k

    22% likelyexpected $770inferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding. Forum evidence from a turbo rebuilder is that these failures come from exhaust corrosion caused by short running — docking, manoeuvring, brief motor-sails — and from heat damage after shutdown without a cooldown. That description matches this boat's usage profile almost exactly: 671 hours over 24 years is about 28 hours a year, which is a life of short runs. A turbo is also the one part of this engine a two-person crew cannot fix at sea, and it sits on the far side of a Papeete shipping delay. Probability is my judgement from the usage pattern, not a measured rate for this engine.

    Yanmar 4JH3TE, 75 hp - turbo — Cruisers & Sailing Forums“turbo failures stem from exhaust corrosion due to "short running the engine (docking)" and heat damage from inadequate cooldown procedures”

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Engine Hours: 671”

  • Heat exchanger casing corrosion — Yanmar has discontinued the casing as a separate part

    $1k–$8k

    20% likelyexpected $600inferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding. UK owners of this engine report corrosion of the aluminium heat exchanger casing at the sealing face, and report that Yanmar no longer sells the casing on its own — it now comes only inside a complete heat exchanger assembly, which is why the failure is expensive rather than merely annoying. Owners also report epoxy-paste repairs working. What is inferred is whether this engine has it; nobody has looked. The reason it matters more here than it would on a Bay Area boat is parts logistics: a complete assembly ordered to Papeete is a long wait, and this is the part that stops the engine.

    Yanmar 4JH3-TE — end of the road? — YBW Forum“Yanmar have changed the way they sell the heat exchanger and the part numbers, so that I can indeed get the heat exchanger casing as part of a whole new heat exchanger assembly”

    Tahiti Cruisers Guide — Marine supplies“Sin Tung Hing Marine is "the official Yanmar distributor"”

  • Undisclosed charter or hard-use history

    $0–$20k

    20% likelyexpected $1kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and I want to be careful not to overstate it. Two things put the question on the table rather than answer it. First, sailboatdata records that this model was also sold as the MOORINGS 43, so a charter fleet version of this exact hull exists. Second, the HIN on the broker's page is IRI00162B202, and 'IRI' is not a manufacturer code I could confirm as Jeanneau's own — which may mean an importer's code, or may mean nothing at all. A charter boat is not automatically a bad boat, but it is a different maintenance history: more hours on everything, more groundings, more crew who did not own it. Probability is my estimate that there is something in this boat's history the listing does not mention, not a claim that it was chartered.

    SUN ODYSSEY 43 (JEANNEAU) — sailboatdata“Another version sold as the MOORINGS 43.”

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Infinity Yacht Sales“HIN: IRI00162B202”

  • In-mast furler jams at sea, if the fitted main turns out to be an in-mast sail

    $500–$15k

    20% likelyexpected $700inferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and it is entirely conditional on resolving the listing's own contradiction. The seller's description says 'Roller furling main & genoa'; the BoatTrader equipment list says 'Fully Battened Mainsail'. Kretschmer records in-mast furling as standard on this model with full-batten and jiffy reefing as the option, so the description is the more likely of the two to be right. If it is in-mast, the whole in-mast argument applies — downwind reefing is the documented weak point and downwind is what this voyage is. If it is a full-batten slab-reefed main, this risk disappears entirely and the boat gets materially better. Probability shown is the joint estimate of it being in-mast and jamming badly at least once in a year.

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Roller furling main & genoa, easy-to-handle sail plan”

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Sailing Magazine (John Kretschmer)“Standard configuration includes in-mast furling mainsails; full-batten mains with jiffy reefing are optional.”

  • 2020 lithium retrofit incompatible with the 2002 alternator and charging system

    $500–$5k

    30% likelyexpected $600inferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding. A LiFePO4 bank will accept charge at a rate that cooks a standard 2002 marine alternator with an internal regulator, and a lead-acid-profile charger or inverter-charger will not charge lithium correctly. The listing records the batteries and a solar controller but says nothing about a DC-DC charger, an external regulator, an alternator upgrade or lithium-profile shore charging. Probability is my estimate that at least one element of the retrofit is missing or wrong, based on how commonly these installations are done partially. The cost band is the damage and remediation to this boat's own systems; the replacement gear itself is in your catalogue and is excluded here.

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“3x 120ah LiFePO house batteries, DuoRacer MPPT dual battery solar charge controller”

  • Osmotic blistering found at survey haulout

    $2k–$18k

    10% likelyexpected $600inferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and set low on purpose. Both reviews record vinylester in the outer laminates specifically as osmosis protection, and Practical Sailor describes a two-inch-thick solid hull bottom with Kevlar-reinforced bow sections — this is a better-built hull than the marketing category suggests. Against that, 24 years in warm San Diego water is a harder blistering environment than cold northern water, and bottom paint was applied in August 2025 so nobody has seen the laminate bare since. Probability is judgement. The high end is a full peel and barrier coat at Bay Area rates on a 43-footer.

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Sailing Magazine (John Kretschmer)“Vinylester resin protects the first two laminates against osmosis.”

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“The hull bottom measures two inches thick.”

  • Large saloon windows or a hatch fails offshore in a knockdown

    $1k–$12k

    8% likelyexpected $280inferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and included as a flag rather than because I expect it. This is a bright, large-window production design — Practical Sailor sells the interior partly on natural light — and with a capsize screening formula of 2.01 the design sits right on the conventional line for ocean work. The combination of large fixed glazing and a beamy light hull is the standard argument for carrying storm shutters offshore. Probability is deliberately low: this is a low-frequency, high-consequence item, and the cost band is repair and mitigation, not the consequences of the event itself.

    Sun Odyssey 43 (Jeanneau) — SailWiki“Capsize Screening Formula: 2.01 (marginal for ocean passages; below 2.0 is preferred)”

Systems to check (24)

  • Standing rigginglisting only

    The headline fact about this boat: 'All Standing Rigging replaced in January 2026'. If true and complete, that removes the largest single required-offshore item that any 24-year-old candidate carries, and it is eight months old at the time of writing, so it will be two years old at a March 2028 departure — comfortably inside any insurer's window. Everything else about it is unstated: no rigger named, no invoice offered, no wire specification, no statement about whether chainplates, tangs, toggles or turnbuckles were replaced or reused, and no statement about whether the mast was unstepped. The mast is a Diffusion 'Red Label' section with double swept spreaders, deck-stepped per Kretschmer. Treat the claim as a strong positive that needs one document to become a fact.

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“All Standing Rigging replaced in January 2026”

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“Red Label mast by Diffusion (France) with double-spreader configuration”

  • Mast, boom and fittingslisting only

    Deck-stepped aluminium masthead rig, Diffusion 'Red Label' section, double swept spreaders, ProFurl headstay furler standard from the factory. The unresolved question is the mast section itself: Kretschmer records in-mast furling as standard equipment with full-batten and jiffy reefing optional, and this listing contradicts itself about which is fitted — the seller's prose says 'Roller furling main', the equipment list says 'Fully Battened Mainsail'. That single fact changes the sails cost item, the furler risk, and how the boat handles the one manoeuvre this voyage is made of. No service history for the ProFurl, no boom vang detail, and the traveller is short by the contemporaneous review's own assessment.

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Sailing Magazine (John Kretschmer)“Standard configuration includes in-mast furling mainsails; full-batten mains with jiffy reefing are optional.”

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“The mainsail traveler is "far too short to be of much help in depowering the main in a big breeze."”

  • Running riggingnot looked at

    Nothing stated. The maintenance list runs to the level of detail of a freshwater accumulator and a water muffler and never mentions a halyard, a sheet or a winch service. The January 2026 job was standing rigging; riggers do not normally include running rigging in that and the listing does not claim they did. Assume original or near-original line on a 24-year-old boat. One item worth noting for the model: there is an electric winch aboard, which on a short-handed boat is a genuine asset and a maintenance item nobody has mentioned. Halyard lengths for re-quoting derive from I about 51.7ft and P about 45.1ft. inferred

  • Sailslisting only

    Inventory: one mainsail of unstated age and unresolved type, one furling genoa of unstated age, and an asymmetric spinnaker of unstated age. Not one build date is given for any sail on this boat, which is the most significant single omission in the listing. What is given is worse than silence, because both statements are the language of maintaining an old sail: the main was 'taken down, inspected small repairs made on sail makers recommendations', and the jib 'had the luff line replaced and UV protected'. An asymmetric spinnaker plus a spinnaker pole is a useful downwind start but an asymmetric is a reaching sail, not a dead-downwind trade-wind sail. Design note for the model: the traveller is too short to depower the main properly, which matters more on a reach in squalls than it does downwind. inferred

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Main sail was taken down, inspected small repairs made on sail makers recommendations.”

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Jib had the luff line replaced and UV protected.”

  • Enginelisting only

    Yanmar 4JH3-TE, four-cylinder turbocharged marine diesel, fitted 2002, showing 671 hours. THE LISTING CONTRADICTS ITSELF ON POWER: the seller's prose says 'Reliable Yanmar 56HP diesel engine' while the specification field says 4JH3-TE, which is the 75hp turbocharged unit. 56hp is the naturally-aspirated 4JH3E. Practical Sailor's contemporaneous review records a 76hp Yanmar as standard for this model and Kretschmer says 80hp, so the turbo engine is the more likely of the two. This is not a trivial discrepancy: it changes the fuel burn against a 56-gallon tank, it changes the service scope, and it introduces a turbocharger — the one component on this engine a two-person crew cannot repair at sea. Service history amounts to 'oil changed yearly typically Aug-Sept, 2023 impeller replaced'. No compression figures, no oil analysis, no mixing elbow history, no valve clearance record. 671 hours in 24 years is about 28 hours a year, which is very light: an engine that has mostly done short runs, which is precisely the usage pattern that corrodes turbos and exhaust elbows. Model-specific defect to check: aluminium heat exchanger casing corrosion at the sealing face, with the casing no longer sold separately by Yanmar. Positive for the voyage: Sin Tung Hing Marine in Papeete is the official Yanmar distributor.

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Engine Model: 4JH3-TE”

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Reliable Yanmar 56HP diesel engine”

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“76-hp Yanmar diesel with three-bladed propeller”

  • Shaft, coupling, prop, stern glandlisting only

    Conventional shaft drive — the listing's drive type field reads 'Direct' — with a fixed three-blade propeller per the contemporaneous review. Materially good news for this voyage: no saildrive diaphragm as a five-year consumable and below-waterline failure path. The shaft seal was replaced in August 2025 alongside bottom paint, which removes the item most often deferred. Not stated: cutless bearing age, coupling and alignment history, whether the prop is still the original fixed three-blade or has been changed, and whether there is a shaft brake or a locked-shaft-versus-freewheel preference. Practical Sailor recorded 8.6 knots at 2,500rpm and 9.6 at wide-open throttle for the model when new, which are useful sea-trial benchmarks.

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Drive Type: Direct”

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“achieving 8.6 knots at 2,500 rpm and 9.6 knots at wide-open throttle”

  • Fuel tanks and systemlisting only

    56 gallons, matching both the listing and the contemporaneous review; sailboatdata says 53 gallons, a difference small enough to be a rounding of 200 litres. That capacity behind a 75hp turbo diesel is the thin part of this boat's specification — meaningfully less motoring range per gallon than the smaller engines on smaller candidates, and the doldrums band between the Galapagos latitudes and the Marquesas is where that gets tested. Nothing said about tank material or location, inspection ports, filtration, fuel age or whether the fuel has ever been polished. Jerry cans and deck chocks are in your catalogue, not here, but the number of them this boat needs is driven by this line. inferred

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Fuel Capacity: 56 gallons”

    SUN ODYSSEY 43 (JEANNEAU) — sailboatdata“Fuel Capacity: 53 gals / 200 L”

  • Electrical, AC and DClisting only

    ALREADY ABOARD, for your generic catalogue: 3 x 130W flexible solar panels and a DuoRacer dual-battery MPPT controller from December 2020, an inverter, a battery charger and a shore power inlet, all of unstated make and age. The picture is a 2002 European-market electrical system with a 2020 solar-and-lithium layer added on top. What is not stated is the whole of the interface between them: no DC-DC charger, no external alternator regulator, no alternator upgrade, no battery monitor, no fusing detail. Note the listing's '130KW' is obviously a typo for 130W; I have read it as 390W total. Also note this was originally a French-market boat, so confirm whether the AC side is 120V/30A US or has been converted. inferred

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Dec 2020, 3x 130KW flexible solar panels, 3x 120ah LiFePO house batteries, DuoRacer MPPT dual battery solar charge controller.”

  • Battery banklisting only

    ALREADY ABOARD, for your generic catalogue: 3 x 120Ah LiFePO4 house batteries fitted December 2020, so 360Ah against your 600Ah target — recorded as fittedQuantity 360. This is a real asset and much better than the flooded lead-acid on most candidates of this age. The caveats are brand, BMS type, low-temperature charge protection and whether the cells are matched, none of which the listing gives. There is also a compatibility question about extending a 2020 bank of unknown chemistry management with 2028-purchased cells; the alternative is to treat these as a good starting bank to be replaced wholesale and count the seven years of remaining calendar life as a negotiating point rather than as capacity. Engine start battery not mentioned at all. inferred

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“3x 120ah LiFePO house batteries”

  • Steering gearlisting only

    Twin-wheel steering with a walkthrough transom — the layout that made this boat sell and the layout that adds the most mechanical complexity below the cockpit sole. Practical Sailor raised it at launch as a concern about 'added mechanical complexity' and potential failure modes an operator must understand. Two pedestals means two cable runs, more sheaves and idlers, and a linking arrangement between them. Nothing whatsoever is said about steering condition, cable age, quadrant, sheaves or rudder bearing, and no steering work appears in a maintenance list that mentions the accumulator tank. No emergency tiller is mentioned; for this voyage that is a required item and its fit needs physically checking with the cockpit table in place. The emergency-tiller line in your catalogue therefore stands in full. inferred

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“added mechanical complexity”

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Spacious cockpit with twin helm and walkthrough transom”

  • Autopilot and self-steeringlisting only

    An autopilot exists and is part of a 'Raymarine/Furuno electronics package'. That is the entire extent of what is known: no make, no model, no drive type, no drive capacity, no age, no installation detail. I have deliberately NOT marked the autopilot-ev200 catalogue line as aboard, because on a twin-wheel 43-footer the drive unit is the whole question — a wheel pilot on either pedestal will not steer 20,500 lb downwind in a following sea, and a 2002-era drive on a 2002-era course computer is a different purchase from a modern linear-drive installation. Note also that twin wheels complicate the mechanical drive question: a below-decks linear drive on the quadrant is the right answer here and is what your catalogue budget should assume until someone reports otherwise. inferred

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Raymarine/Furuno electronics package, autopilot, and more”

  • Hull and laminatelisting only

    Hand-laid solid fibreglass hull in vinylester and polyester, two inches thick at the bottom, with Kevlar rovings in the bow sections and a 450-gram Aramat 76K6 glass-and-Kevlar layer in the schedule. Internal structure is solid hardwood longitudinal stringers encapsulated in glass plus a grid, rather than a moulded liner — Kretschmer notes laminated plywood floors and stringers bonded to the hull, and records 1,200 man-hours per boat. This is a better-built hull than the production-cruiser label implies and the hull laminate is not where I would expect to find trouble. The design ratios are the concern rather than the build: displacement 20,503 lb on a 37.5ft waterline and 13.75ft beam gives D/L 173.6 and a capsize screening formula of 2.01, both of which I have recomputed independently (13.75 / (20503/64)^(1/3) = 2.01). SailWiki's comfort ratio of 24.62 puts it in coastal territory. Bottom painted August 2025, so the laminate has not been seen bare recently. HIN IRI00162B202 per the broker page.

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“a 450-gram layer of Aramat 76K6, a mixture of glass fiber and Kevlar”

    Sun Odyssey 43 (Jeanneau) — SailWiki“Capsize Screening Formula: 2.01 (marginal for ocean passages; below 2.0 is preferred)”

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Sailing Magazine (John Kretschmer)“1,200 man-hours to complete each Sun Odyssey 43”

  • Keel and keel boltslisting only

    THE HIGHEST-IMPACT UNKNOWN ON THIS BOAT AND THE REASON THIS FILE NEARLY STOPPED AT STEP ONE. The model was built with two keels: a standard fin at 2.00m / 6.56ft and an optional shoal keel at 1.60m / 5.25ft, both externally fastened. The standard keel is 0.06ft OVER your hard 6.5ft gate on the manufacturer figure. The listing's draft field says 6.5ft and Kretschmer's review says 6ft 6in, which is 1.98m — the same keel, differently rounded. On your instruction I have recorded 6.5ft so the payload ingests, but understand what that number is: it is a rounding, not a measurement, and nothing in the listing identifies which keel this hull actually has. If it is the deep keel you are at or one inch past your limit; if it is the shoal keel you have fifteen inches of margin and a materially worse righting moment on a boat whose capsize screening formula is already 2.01. Material matters too: the keel is epoxy-coated cast iron, not lead, which is a different ageing story. No grounding history, no keel bolt torque record, no comment on the joint. inferred

    Sun Odyssey 43 — Wikipedia“Standard keel: 6.56 ft (2.00 m); Shoal draft keel (optional): 5.25 ft (1.60 m)”

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Sailing Magazine (John Kretschmer)“An "externally fastened epoxy-coated iron keel" attaches late in construction. Draft measures 6 feet, 6 inches.”

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Draft (Max): 6.5 ft”

  • Rudder and bearingslisting only

    Internally-mounted spade rudder on twin wheels, with a triangular collar providing additional support at the bearing per the contemporaneous review — a slightly better arrangement than a bare upper and lower bearing, but still an unsupported spade with no skeg. Nothing in the listing mentions the rudder in any way. Searching turned up rudder bearing wear as a recurring topic across the Sun Odyssey range on the Jeanneau owners' forum, but those threads would not open — the site requires JavaScript and returned nothing — so I am recording that as an unverified search result rather than as evidence, and it is a question for the class association rather than a finding here. inferred

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“a triangular shaped collar provides additional support”

    Sun Odyssey 43 — Wikipedia“internally mounted spade-type, controlled by dual wheels”

  • Deck, hardware and hull–deck jointlisting only

    The most substantive model-level finding in this file, and it comes entirely from the contemporaneous review rather than from the boat. Three things. First, the hull-deck joint is the deck flange bonded on top of the hull with Sikaflex and self-tapping screws at 10cm centres under a toerail, and Practical Sailor said in terms that they think such joints should be through-bolted. Second, deck hardware including chainplates is 'bolted through wood and backed with washers' — solid wood beds under cleats, winches and chainplates, which is good for load spreading while dry and a rot path once wet, and washers are not backing plates. Third, the guardrail stanchions are 24in, which the reviewer called 'strangely minimalist' for a 43-footer against a preferred 28-30in. None of these are unusual for a 2001 production boat and none is disqualifying; all three are worth money and attention on a boat going offshore. Nothing in the listing mentions any deck fitting having been rebedded in 24 years.

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“we're still of the opinion that hull-deck joints should be through-bolted rather than screwed”

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“All deck hardware is "bolted through wood and backed with washers."”

  • Through-hulls and seacocksnot looked at

    Nothing known whatsoever. The listing does not mention seacocks, through-hulls, valve material, bilge pumping or strainers, and the boat has not been hauled for inspection. Assume original 2002 fittings with 24 years of continuous immersion in warm San Diego water. What makes this worse than on a smaller boat is the penetration count: two heads, two showers, a galley, a watermaker feed and engine raw water means twelve to sixteen holes rather than eight to ten. Cheapest thing to resolve at the survey haulout — count them, exercise every one, and check whether any are gate valves rather than proper seacocks. Note the bilge-pump line in your catalogue stands in full; nothing here suggests any bilge pumping arrangement beyond whatever Jeanneau fitted in 2002. inferred

  • Plumbing, water tanks and headslisting only

    106 gallons fresh water in what the review describes as two tanks, with an optional third 45-gallon tank that may or may not be fitted here. Two heads. Recent work on the pressure side is real and creditable: Isotemp 4-gallon water heater March 2022, freshwater pump upgraded to 45psi and accumulator replaced September 2023, Vetus composite water muffler June 2021. Nothing at all about the tanks themselves, the potable hose, either head, the sanitation hose or the holding tanks. ALREADY ABOARD, for your generic catalogue: a Spectra Ventura 200T watermaker installed October 2020, which the listing says has never been pickled and gets a monthly freshwater rinse — the best-documented single item on the boat. Spectra rate it at over 8 gallons (31 litres) per hour on 10A at 12V.

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Oct 2020, Spectra Ventura 200T watermaker, never pickled”

    Spectra Ventura 200T fact sheet“over 8 gallons (31 liters) per hour”

  • Ground tackle and windlasslisting only

    ALREADY ABOARD, for your generic catalogue: an electric windlass, make and gypsy size unstated. NOT marked aboard and deliberately so: the anchor. The listing says 'Box Anchor', which is a specific product — a folding box-type anchor, a design that holds well in soft mud and sand and is not what most Pacific cruisers choose for the mixed sand-and-coral bottoms of the Tuamotus and the Society Islands, where a heavy modern scoop like the Rocna in your catalogue is the convention. Your primary-anchor line therefore stands. So does the chain line: no chain size, no length, no snubber, no swivel and no second anchor are stated anywhere. Confirm the windlass gypsy size before ordering 5/16in chain — a 2002 European boat may well have a metric gypsy — and note the Tahiti guide's warning that chain ordered in Papeete takes months, so this is a Bay Area decision. inferred

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Box Anchor”

    Tahiti Cruisers Guide — Marine supplies“STH has "some chain in stock" but new chain orders "will take a few months to arrive."”

  • Safety equipmentlisting only

    One item and one item only: a '6 person emergency life raft'. I have NOT marked the liferaft-offshore-6p catalogue line as aboard, and the reason matters. No make, no model, no build date, no service date, no certification standard and no statement of whether it is a coastal or offshore raft or whether it is in a valise or a canister. A raft out of certification is not a raft, and a coastal raft is not an offshore raft — this is exactly the near-miss your brief warns about, and marking it aboard would make the boat look cheaper than it is. If the seller produces a current service certificate for an offshore-specification raft, the line can be zeroed then. Everything else in your safety catalogue — EPIRB, PLBs, jacklines, tethers, lifejackets, flares, danbuoy, medical kit, fire extinguishers, drogue, damage control, grab bag, MOB ladder — is entirely absent from the listing. The swimming ladder listed is a transom bathing ladder, not an in-water-deployable MOB ladder, so that line stands too. inferred

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“6 person emergency life raft”

  • Electronics and navigationlisting only

    ALREADY ABOARD, for your generic catalogue, one item only: the instrument pack — the anemometer and analog gauges at both helms were upgraded in January 2020 and a depthsounder is listed. Also aboard and marked: a Starlink receiver, model unstated. Everything else is named as a category rather than a product and is therefore NOT marked aboard: 'Radar', 'GPS', 'VHF', 'Navigation Center', 'Compass', 'Radio', all under the heading 'Raymarine/Furuno electronics package'. On a 2002 boat, a Furuno radar is a magnetron radome of a completely different generation from the solid-state unit in your catalogue, and a plotter of that vintage is not what you leave for the Marquesas on. There is no mention of AIS of any class, no NMEA2000 backbone, no satellite messenger beyond Starlink, no paper charts and no sextant. Positive for the voyage: Sin Tung Hing Marine in Papeete is the official Raymarine distributor and Marine Supplies there services Raymarine, so the brand choice is a good one for this route. inferred

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Jan 2020, Anemometer and analog gauges port and starboard upgraded”

    Tahiti Cruisers Guide — Marine supplies“official Lowrance, Simrad & Raymarine distributor”

  • Canvas, dodger and coverslisting only

    A bimini, new in August 2020, and nothing else. No dodger is mentioned anywhere in either the equipment list or the seller's prose, which on a twin-wheel boat with a walkthrough transom is a significant gap for night watches in rain and spray. No sail cover or stack pack is mentioned, which is consistent with — though not proof of — an in-mast main. No cockpit enclosure, no awnings. The bimini will be about eight years old at a March 2028 departure, at the end of a normal Sunbrella life, and it is the most likely home for the three flexible solar panels, so rebuilding one drags the other with it. The foredeck-awning line in your catalogue stands in full. inferred

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Aug 2020, New bimini”

  • Windows, hatches and portsnot looked at

    Nothing stated. Not one hatch, port or window appears anywhere in the listing or the maintenance history, in either direction. Practical Sailor sells the interior on light — 'bright, spacious salon with teak finish and plenty of natural light' is the broker's echo of the same point — which on this generation of Jeanneau means large fixed saloon glazing. Assume 24-year-old gaskets and bedding compound throughout. Two things follow: leaking hatches are the mechanism by which a balsa deck core gets wet, and large unshuttered saloon windows are the standard damage-control argument for carrying storm shutters offshore. Worth noting in this context that an Isotemp bilge heater was fitted in February 2020, in San Diego; the innocent explanation is winter condensation. inferred

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“Bright, spacious salon with teak finish and plenty of natural light”

  • Dinghy and outboardlisting only

    An 8ft Achilles foldable dinghy with a 2hp outboard is aboard. I have NOT marked either the dinghy or the outboard catalogue lines as aboard, and this is the clearest near-miss in the file. Your catalogue specifies a 3.1m hypalon RIB and a 9.9-15hp four-stroke; what is here is an 8ft (2.4m) roll-up tender with a 2hp engine. That is a harbour tender, not a cruising dinghy: it will not plane with two people and stores, it will not push against a Tuamotu pass current, and 8ft of roll-up fabric floor is a wet, slow boat for the long dinghy rides that a year of atoll cruising consists of. It is genuinely useful as a second, stowable tender and as a backup, and it means you are not starting from nothing — but both catalogue lines stand in full. Fabric type (PVC versus hypalon) is unstated; an Achilles of that size in PVC would be another strike, since PVC dies quickly in tropical UV. No davits, chocks or lifting tackle are mentioned. inferred

    2002 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 listing“8 ft Achilles foldable dingy w/ 2hp outboard”

  • Interior and sea berthslisting only

    Two heads and a teak-finished saloon; the model came in two-cabin and four-cabin layouts and the listing does not say which this is, though the two-head arrangement suggests three or four cabins rather than two. That matters and cuts against the boat for your purposes: Practical Sailor noted the two-cabin layout offers superior storage versus the four-cabin version, and for a two-person crew doing a fifteen-month refit and a year of cruising, stowage and sea berths beat cabin count every time. Practical Sailor's specific complaints about the interior were the narrow forward head, the forward cabin door fouling the head door, and a forward berth only 55in wide at the shoulder with 80in on centreline. Galley is L-shaped with double forward-facing sinks, 12V refrigeration and a two-burner propane stove with oven. A 60-litre portable IceCo freezer is aboard, which I read as a comment on the fitted refrigeration. Nothing is said about sea berths or lee cloths; the lee-cloth line in your catalogue stands. Engine access on this model is unreported and worth checking by eye. inferred

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“The two-cabin layout offers superior storage versus the four-cabin version.”

    Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 43 — Practical Sailor“The forward berth is "55″ wide at the shoulder" with only 80 inches on centerline”