Boats

Sign in
All boats

2009 Seawind 1160 "CUBO LISTA", San Rafael, CA 94901 (Rubicon Yachts, Emeryville)

21/21
View listing

Ability analysis

Everything below is costed to cross the Pacific.

Archived on August 27, 2026. Everything researched about it is still here; it sits under Archived on the boats list rather than in the comparison.

Specifications

All-in, cruising

—

not analysed

All-in, offshore

$443k–$455k

offer + full refit

Length

38.06 ft

Draft

3.75 ft

Capability

8.0 · 8.1

cruising · offshore, of 10

Capability is scored for both standards from the same design research, re-weighted. The money is not: a coastal refit has to be costed on its own, which is why it can read “not analysed” above while the score beside it is real.

24 of 24 systems still unexamined, carrying $18k of reserve.

That figure falls as you inspect — it shrinks because you did the diligence, not because you got optimistic. A system with no assessment counts as unexamined and carries its full allowance.

Systems assessed0%

Identified risks (14)

Discrete events, kept out of the cost ranges so they stay visible and can be retired once you have looked.

  • The house battery bank turns out to be original-era lead-acid at end of life, or absent, and the whole DC architecture has to be rebuilt around a new bank

    $2k–$11k

    55% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and the highest-probability item in the file because it rests on a silence rather than on age. This listing itemises a $1,297 torsion cable and a $1,376 hatch with dates and invoice numbers. It names the inverter (Xantrex Freedom Marine 2000W), the isolation switch (230 amp), the shore power inlet, the switch panel and the battery charger. It never once says what the batteries are. On a boat documented this carefully that is not an oversight, it is an answer. Read it as an original-era or mid-life flooded or AGM bank that nobody wants to write down. The cost carried here is NOT the bank itself, which is a catalogue item — it is the consequential work: a Xantrex Freedom Marine of that generation is not lithium-compatible without care, the charge profile has to be reset or the charger replaced, and the DC distribution across two hulls has to be re-cabled and re-fused for a bank several times the capacity. Probability is above a coin flip because the evidence for a good bank would have been trivially easy to state.

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Xantrex Freedom Marine 2000W inverter/charger”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“12V DC with shore power inlet”

  • The centre steering bracket is the original single-traveller-car design and the rudder bearings are found loose, requiring the full steering and bearing rebuild rather than an inspection

    $3k–$13k

    50% likelyexpected $3kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, but the base rate here is unusually well supported for desk research. Two independent 2008-hull owners are on the record with steering-bracket trouble, and Seawind's own response was to redesign the mount — 'from a vertical mount to a horizontal mount to reduce stress on the ball bearings'. Nothing in this listing says this 2009 hull has been modified, and a 2009 boat is more likely than not to be in the original configuration. The rudder bearings are a separate but adjacent failure: bronze collars epoxy-bonded into fibreglass tubes, and on the sister ship the bond let go and produced 'vibration when making a sharp turn'. This risk is written as the escalation above the cost items already booked for both jobs — the case where inspection finds the tubes themselves have been worn oval, or where the bracket rebuild turns into a full steering system replacement. Probability is set at a coin flip because half the fleet evidence points one way and no evidence at all points the other.

    Redesigning the Seawind 1160 Center Steering Bracket — SV Strikhedonia“from a vertical mount to a horizontal mount to reduce stress on the ball bearings”

    Redesigning the Seawind 1160 Center Steering Bracket — SV Strikhedonia“has had issues”

    Rudder Bearing Removal on a Seawind 1160 — SV Strikhedonia“vibration when making a sharp turn”

  • One or both seventeen-year-old SD20 saildrive legs is corroded past service and needs replacement rather than sealing

    $6k–$30k

    28% likelyexpected $4kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding. A saildrive leg is an aluminium casting living permanently in salt water, protected only by anodes, paint and the bonding system, and this pair has been doing that for seventeen years. The specific worry on a boat like this is not neglect — the March 2024 'saildrive service and paint' suggests the opposite — it is history: a period of shore power with a wandering current, or a season with anodes left too long, quietly eats a leg from the inside of the paint outward. CatamaranSite records 1160 owners seeing 'wear issues with prop shaft lip seals on the SD20 sail drives', and a lip seal that has been passing water is the route by which salt gets into the leg's internals. The cost band is a replacement Yanmar SD20 leg plus fitting for one at the low-to-likely end and both at the high end, at Bay Area rates with the boat already on the rail. Probability is held below a third because a boat with a documented March 2024 saildrive service and paint is a boat somebody was looking after.

    Seawind 1160 Catamaran Review — model reference“wear issues with prop shaft lip seals on the SD20 sail drives”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Saildrive service and paint, March 2024 ($1,857)”

    Yanmar SD20 saildrive diaphragm seal service interval“The recommended change interval is 5 years. This was put in place a few years ago.”

  • The foam-cored deck is found wet around the targa arch feet, the trampoline anchorages or the 2024 solar mounts, requiring localised core replacement

    $4k–$24k

    28% likelyexpected $3kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding. Seventeen years of fastener penetrations through a foam-cored deck with no recorded re-bedding is a normal amount of exposure, and this design concentrates load in places a monohull does not have: the targa arch carries the entire mainsheet load through its feet into the deck, and the trampoline anchorages are cyclically loaded by every wave that hits the forward beam. New holes were made in March 2024 for the solar. Two things hold the probability below a third rather than above it. Closed-cell foam core does not rot and does not wick along a grain the way balsa does, so a wet fastener on this boat usually means a wet fastener rather than a wet deck. And the boat is a five-mould monocoque engineered by High Modulus, which is a stiffer and better-detailed structure than a typical production layup. The band assumes one to three localised areas cut, dried, recored and refaired at Bay Area rates, not a deck job.

    Seawind 1160 — Boating New Zealand“fibreglass, sandwich foam construction”

    Seawind 1160 — Boating New Zealand“maximise strength and rigidity”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“New solar panels with Victron charger, March 2024 ($2,564)”

    Berkeley Marine Center — Yard Rates“Skilled Marine Technician Labor | $140 per hour”

  • One or both Yanmar 3YM30s needs major work — a scrap mixing elbow, a heat exchanger beyond cleaning, or a top-end overhaul

    $4k–$26k

    28% likelyexpected $3kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and the probability is doubled relative to a single-engine boat for the obvious reason: there are two engines and either can trigger the event. 1,641 hours over seventeen years is 97 a year, which is fine, and the 3YM30 is a simple naturally-aspirated three-cylinder with no turbo and no intercooler to go wrong — a materially better engine to own than the turbocharged fours on some other candidates in this file. What raises the number is time and disuse rather than wear. A commenter on a 3YM30 thread reports an exhaust elbow completely blocked at 200 hours over four years; elbows carbon and salt up on a calendar. And this boat shows every sign of having sat: 16.1 hours on a generator installed in May 2024, and a $40,000 refit in early 2024 followed by a sale rather than a voyage. The high end of the band is one engine replaced rather than rebuilt. The mitigating fact is real and route-specific: Sin Tung Hing Marine in Papeete is the official Yanmar dealer for French Polynesia, so if something lets go on the way, this is a supported engine.

    Cleaning Yanmar 3YM30 Heat Exchangers — SV Strikhedonia“about 6 hours start to finish per engine”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Engine Hours: 1,641 hours”

    Marine supplies — Tahiti Cruisers Guide“the official dealer for Yanmar and Northern Lights”

  • The generic offshore gear catalogue plus a 2024 generator pushes the boat past the displacement where it sails and behaves as designed

    $0–$14k

    40% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and the one on this list that is a design consequence rather than a defect. This is a 7,000kg boat with SA/D near 21 and a bridgedeck clearance of 0.71m. Practical Sailor is explicit that 'Seawind will suffer materially from overloading'; CatamaranSite records a persistent owner complaint about 'their lack of storage capacity' and a cruiser's report that 'once loaded for long distance, remote area cruising she feels a bit heavy and less responsive'. Your generic catalogue — 600Ah of lithium, 800W of solar, 300ft of chain and a bigger anchor, a liferaft, a series drogue, a full spares kit, jerry cans, a sextant, paper charts — is written for a 17,000-29,000lb monohull that absorbs it. On this hull it is a meaningful fraction of the payload, and it lands on top of a Fischer Panda generator the boat was not designed around. The consequences are not a repair bill: they are lost bridgedeck clearance and more slamming, a slower boat, and a longer passage. The cost band is what it takes to buy the weight back — lighter lithium in place of a heavier bank, deleting or downsizing the generator now that there is solar and a Spectra, choosing chain length over chain size, and accepting less fuel and water. Probability reflects that two independent sources flag this as a known characteristic of the model.

    Seawind 1160 Used Boat Review“Seawind will suffer materially from overloading”

    Seawind 1160 Catamaran Review — model reference“their lack of storage capacity”

    Seawind 1160 Catamaran Review — model reference“once loaded for long distance, remote area cruising she feels a bit heavy and less responsive”

    SEAWIND 1160 — sailboatdata“Displacement: 15,432 lb / 7,000 kg”

  • Several of the nine remaining original hatches, or a saloon window, are unrepairable and need complete replacement

    $3k–$17k

    40% likelyexpected $3kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and one of the better-evidenced entries here because the listing itself supplies the base rate. Somebody replaced a Gebo deck hatch in March 2024 for $1,376. A hatch gets replaced rather than re-bedded when the frame or the pane is beyond saving, so at least one of this boat's ten hatches had reached that state two years ago, and the other nine are the same age with the same UV history. Add California sun for seventeen years followed by a year in the tropics. The catamaran-specific escalation is the saloon glazing: an 1160's saloon is largely window, those panels are large, and replacing one is a different order of cost from replacing a foredeck hatch. Probability is set at 0.4 because a one-in-ten failure already observed does not stay a one-in-ten failure over the next four years.

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“New Gebo deck hatch, March 2024 ($1,376)”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“10 aluminum hatches/portholes”

  • The Fischer Panda 5000 has deteriorated from disuse and needs commissioning work, or turns out to be a different unit from the one described

    $1k–$9k

    30% likelyexpected $1kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and it starts with a contradiction in the listing itself: the equipment field says 'Generator (Fischer Panda 7.5 KW with 16.1 hours)' while the upgrade list says 'New Fisher Panda 5000 - May 2024 ($23,688)'. A Panda 5000 is a 5kW machine, not 7.5kW. Either the equipment field is stale from a previous unit or the new machine is a different model from the one named, and on a $23,688 line item that is worth resolving. The substantive risk is the 16.1 hours. A marine diesel generator that has run sixteen hours in two years has been sitting: impellers take a set, seawater passages scale, injectors gum, and coolant sits. Fischer Panda machines are also compact, water-cooled, tightly packaged and generally regarded as needing an informed owner rather than a casual one. The band is commissioning, a full service and the parts a sat-still diesel needs, not a replacement.

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Generator (Fischer Panda 7.5 KW with 16.1 hours; New Fisher Panda 5000 - May 2024)”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“New Fischer Panda 5000 generator, May 2024 ($23,688)”

  • The Raymarine autopilot is an inshore-grade unit or has an undersized drive, and the boat has no self-steering adequate for three weeks of downwind sailing

    $3k–$14k

    35% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and it matters more on this boat than it would on any monohull in the file because there is no mechanical fallback. Windpilot — a vane manufacturer, so a friendly witness — concedes that on a catamaran 'the pronounced shifts in apparent wind angle will leave the windvane steering system weaving back and forth all over the sea', and a transom-hung servo-pendulum has nowhere to go on a boat with twin spade rudders, davits and two saildrive legs. So the electric pilot IS the self-steering, and the catalogue's windvane lines should be struck rather than costed. What the listing says is 'Raymarine autopilot with remote control' — no model, no generation, no drive unit, and it is NOT in the itemised 2022-24 refit list, so it is somewhere between 2009 and 2022. A 2009-era Raymarine wheel or cockpit pilot on a 7-tonne catamaran with a big square-top main will hold a course in the Bay and give up in a following Pacific swell. The band is a current-generation pilot computer and an adequately sized drive on the linkage, plus installation, plus the second pilot that a boat with no vane gear ought to carry.

    Catamarans and windvane self-steering“the pronounced shifts in apparent wind angle will leave the windvane steering system weaving back and forth all over the sea”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Raymarine autopilot with remote control”

    Marine supplies — Tahiti Cruisers Guide“Alex is the Raymarine warranty service / dealer for French Polynesia”

  • The Garmin, Raymarine and Icom equipment does not share a network, and the 2009 instruments are SeaTalk-era units that cannot be integrated

    $2k–$9k

    45% likelyexpected $2kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding. The listing describes a Garmin multifunction display, a Raymarine autopilot, an Icom M605 VHF, an Icom M802 SSB with a Pactor modem, an AIS transponder, and wind, speed and depth instruments — five brands and at least three generations, with nothing said about how any of it talks to anything else. A 2009 Seawind would have left the factory with Raymarine ST60-series instruments on SeaTalk1; the Garmin MFD was added later; SeaTalk1 and NMEA2000 do not natively interoperate. The likely truth is a boat where the plotter shows position and radar, the pilot has its own heading sensor, and the AIS may or may not appear on the plotter — a set of islands rather than a system. That is why the catalogue's nmea-backbone line is deliberately NOT marked aboard on this boat. The cost carried here is replacing orphaned SeaTalk instruments and building a real backbone, over and above the catalogue's backbone line.

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Garmin multifunction display (GPS plotter, radar, sounder)”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Raymarine autopilot with remote control”

    Marine supplies — Tahiti Cruisers Guide“Alex is the Raymarine warranty service / dealer for French Polynesia”

  • The beam is confirmed at 21ft 4in and every haulout in the refit and on the route has to be planned around a rail, a trailer or a long detour

    $2k–$11k

    65% likelyexpected $3kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and the probability is high because the weight of evidence is on the wide side. The listing, Sailboatdata, Practical Sailor and Boat-Specs all give 6.5m / 21ft 4in; only Cruising World and Boating New Zealand give 6.2m / 20ft 4in. Berkeley's travelift takes 'maximum beam of 15 feet', KKMI Point Richmond 20ft 6in, KKMI Sausalito 20ft. At 21ft 4in the boat can use none of them and the refit runs from Napa Valley Marina's rail at $50/ft, thirty miles up the river. The cost carried here is above the haulout already priced: the extra lifts a refit always needs, the delivery time to and from Napa each time, the schedule risk of depending on one facility, and the same problem repeating in French Polynesia and on the way to Australia, where the Tahiti guide is silent on multihull haulout capability. SAIL Magazine's framing is the right one — 'by no means insurmountable' but requiring that you 'Do some research, plan accordingly'. Two inches of beam is the difference between planning and improvising.

    Berkeley Marine Center — Yard Rates“boats up to 30 tons in weight and maximum beam of 15 feet”

    KKMI — Boat Hauling & Loading“Max Lift 50 Tons, Beam 20'”

    SEAWIND 1160 — sailboatdata“Beam: 21.33 ft / 6.50 m”

    Seawind 1160: Award-Winning Concept and Execution“Beam: 20'4"”

    Tips on Hauling Out a Catamaran“Do some research, plan accordingly”

  • Bridgedeck slamming has caused fatigue damage at the forward beam, nacelle or hull-to-bridgedeck junction

    $4k–$30k

    12% likelyexpected $1kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and deliberately the lowest probability on this list. Bridgedeck clearance is 0.71m / 2.33ft, which CatamaranSite describes as producing 'some slamming when sailing upwind in choppy seas' — but the same source is explicit that owners report 'no structural issues', and Practical Sailor records that 'An 1160 weathered a three-day storm in the Tasman Sea'. The structure is a High Modulus-engineered five-mould monocoque, which is a good pedigree. Two things keep this on the list at all rather than off it. Seventeen years of San Francisco Bay is seventeen years of short steep chop hitting a low bridgedeck, which is a harsher fatigue environment than a Queensland charter life. And on a monocoque with 'no bulkheads in the hulls', damage at a bonded module-to-hull joint is both structural and hard for a monohull surveyor to find. The band assumes localised laminate repair, not a rebuild.

    Seawind 1160 Used Boat Review“An 1160 weathered a three-day storm in the Tasman Sea”

    Seawind 1160 Catamaran Review — model reference“some slamming when sailing upwind in choppy seas”

    Seawind 1160 Catamaran Review — model reference“no structural issues”

    Seawind 1160 — Boating New Zealand“a complete, monocoque structure”

  • The seventeen-year-old lifelines and stanchion bases are found unfit and have to be replaced along with their deck penetrations

    $2k–$6k

    50% likelyexpected $1kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, and included as a risk rather than a cost item because the generic catalogue already carries a full lifeline line that I have deliberately NOT zeroed on this boat. The listing says 'High-quality stanchions, bow/stern rails, 3 lifelines' and gives no material, no age and no terminal type. Three lifelines is an unusual arrangement and probably means an extra low wire, which is a good sign about the original specification. But seventeen years is seventeen years, and on a catamaran the guardrail run is longer than on a monohull — two hulls, a bridgedeck and the trampoline perimeter — with more stanchion bases penetrating a foam-cored deck. If the wire turns out to be vinyl-coated, the line is not repairable at any price: coating traps salt against the wire and offshore special regulations exclude it. Probability set at a coin flip on age alone.

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“High-quality stanchions, bow/stern rails, 3 lifelines”

    Berkeley Marine Center — Yard Rates“Skilled Marine Technician Labor | $140 per hour”

  • Escalation beyond the booked steering and bearing work: the rudder tubes are found worn, or the bracket rebuild turns into a full steering-system replacement

    $3k–$13k

    50% likelyexpected $3kinferred

    Reasoning, not a source: Reasoning, not a finding, but the base rate here is unusually well supported for desk research. Two independent 2008-hull owners are on the record with steering-bracket trouble, and Seawind's own response was to redesign the mount — 'from a vertical mount to a horizontal mount to reduce stress on the ball bearings'. Nothing in this listing says this 2009 hull has been modified, and a 2009 boat is more likely than not to be in the original configuration. The rudder bearings are a separate but adjacent failure: bronze collars epoxy-bonded into fibreglass tubes, and on the sister ship the bond let go and produced 'vibration when making a sharp turn'. This risk is written as the escalation above the cost items already booked for both jobs — the case where inspection finds the tubes themselves have been worn oval, or where the bracket rebuild turns into a full steering system replacement. Probability is set at a coin flip because half the fleet evidence points one way and no evidence at all points the other.

    Redesigning the Seawind 1160 Center Steering Bracket — SV Strikhedonia“from a vertical mount to a horizontal mount to reduce stress on the ball bearings”

    Redesigning the Seawind 1160 Center Steering Bracket — SV Strikhedonia“has had issues”

    Rudder Bearing Removal on a Seawind 1160 — SV Strikhedonia“vibration when making a sharp turn”

Systems to check (24)

  • Standing rigginglisting only

    The strongest system on the boat and one of only two things here with a date AND a dollar figure attached: 'New standing rigging, March 2024 ($8,999)'. Two years old at purchase, four at a March 2028 departure, comfortably inside any insurer's window and inside the 10-12 year industry standard for wire. The model context makes it more valuable rather than less: three 2008 sister ships all re-rigged at about ten years after one found 'a very small fracture in the upper swage on the outer shroud' and another 'had found a crack in a swage', so this design does crack swages, and this boat's original wire went fifteen years before somebody spent $8,999 on it. The specification to check the invoice against, from the sister ship's job, is 10mm 1x19 316 for uppers and lowers and 8mm 1x19 for the diamonds. NOT stated anywhere: who did it, whether the mast came out, whether the chainplates and mast-beam attachment were inspected at the same time, and whether the diamond stays were included or only the shrouds. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“New standing rigging, March 2024 ($8,999)”

    Standing Rigging Replacement on a Seawind 1160 — SV Strikhedonia“a very small fracture in the upper swage on the outer shroud”

    Standing Rigging Replacement on a Seawind 1160 — SV Strikhedonia“10mm 1x19 type 316 stainless steel wire rope”

  • Mast, boom and fittingslisting only

    'Aluminum mast and boom (7/8 rig, single spreader)', undated and therefore 2009 originals, with diamond stays implied by the sister ship's rigging specification. Two structures matter here and only one is a mast. The mast is stepped on a beam over the bridgedeck rather than on a keel, so the compression path runs mast to step to moulded beam in a boat with 'no bulkheads in the hulls'. The second structure is the targa arch: Boating New Zealand records that 'The main traveller mounts on the Targa arch with a one-sheet continuous system', which puts the whole mainsheet load into an arch whose feet land on a foam-cored deck, and that arch may now also be carrying the March 2024 solar. Tempo Spars supplies Seawind OEM masts and rigging, which is useful for parts. NOT stated: mast wiring age, whether the mast came out for the 2024 re-rig, boom and gooseneck condition, or any air draft figure. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Aluminum mast and boom (7/8 rig, single spreader)”

    Seawind 1160 — Boating New Zealand“The main traveller mounts on the Targa arch with a one-sheet continuous system”

    Seawind 1160 — Boating New Zealand“no bulkheads in the hulls”

  • Running rigginglisting only

    Conspicuously absent from a listing that dates everything else. The May 2022 Hood invoices cover sails and a torsion cable and no line; the March 2024 block covers rigging, solar, paint, a hatch and a saildrive service and no line. So halyards, sheets and control lines are 2009 originals at seventeen years, with 'all lines leading back to the cockpit' meaning long runs and many turning blocks. Hardware named: a Profurl furler on the self-tacking jib, a torsion-cable furler for the screacher, 2x Harken ST46ST self-tailing sheet winches and 10x Spinlock clutches, plus a stack-pack and lazy jacks. TWO winches is the number worth sitting with — no spare drum if one seizes, and an ST46 is modest for sheeting a screacher on a 21ft-beam catamaran. NOT stated: any boom preventer arrangement, any vang (a cat with a traveller-on-arch may not have one), and the age or service history of either furler. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“2x Harken ST46ST sheet winches”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“10x Spinlock rope clutches”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Self-tacking headsail with Profurl furler”

  • Sailslisting only

    The best-documented system on the boat, invoice by invoice, all from Hood in May 2022: fully battened mainsail #7325 at $9,861, self-tacking jib #7326 at $4,861, screacher #7343 at $5,548 and a torsion cable at $1,297 — $21,567 of sails four years old at purchase and six at departure. That is the right wardrobe shape for the Milk Run: a big square-top main, a small self-tacker for windward and heavy-weather work, and a screacher for the reaching and running that is most of the route. Two gaps. Nothing states whether the main has a third reef, which on a catamaran is the primary means of not being over-canvassed, since a cat does not heel to tell you. And there is no storm sail of any kind — note that the catalogue's ATN Gale Sail is specified for 36-43ft MONOHULLS and hoists over a furled headsail, so whether it fits a small self-tacking jib on a Profurl needs checking with the loft rather than assuming. GENERIC GEAR NOT ABOARD: storm-sails, downwind-pole (and see the question about whether a pole is wanted at all on a 21ft-beam boat with a screacher). inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Mainsail: Hood fully battened, new May 2022 (#7325, $9,861)”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Screacher: Hood, new May 2022 (#7343, $5,548)”

    Seawind 1160 — Boating New Zealand“big, fully battened main is a powerful beast, and she reacts quickly to the slightest puff”

  • Enginelisting only

    Twin Yanmar 3YM30, 30hp each, 1,641 hours, original 2009 units. The 3YM30 is a simple naturally-aspirated three-cylinder with no turbo, no intercooler and no exhaust mixing elbow complexity beyond the usual — a materially better engine to own for this trip than the turbocharged fours on some other candidates in this file, and Sin Tung Hing Marine in Papeete is 'the official dealer for Yanmar', so parts exist on the route. 97 hours a year is unremarkable. The two things that matter are not in the hours. First, there are two of them, so every service, every consumable and every failure probability doubles — that is the trade for the redundancy of being able to motor home on one engine, which on a passage is worth a lot. Second, disuse: a sister-ship thread records a 3YM30 exhaust elbow completely blocked at 200 hours over four years, and this boat has 16.1 hours on a generator fitted in May 2024. Practical Sailor notes access on this model is awkward — 'Accessing the dipstick via a panel in the head seemed convoluted'. NOT stated: any service history, whether the hours are matched between engines, or when either was last serviced. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Twin Yanmar 3YM30 Diesel (30 hp each, 60 hp total)”

    Cleaning Yanmar 3YM30 Heat Exchangers — SV Strikhedonia“about 6 hours start to finish per engine”

    Seawind 1160 Used Boat Review“Accessing the dipstick via a panel in the head seemed convoluted.”

    Marine supplies — Tahiti Cruisers Guide“the official dealer for Yanmar and Northern Lights”

  • Shaft, coupling, prop, stern glandlisting only

    Twin Yanmar SD20 saildrives with 'Saildrive service and paint, March 2024 ($1,857)' — $929 a leg, which buys anodes, oil and paint but almost certainly not diaphragms, because getting at an SD20 diaphragm means uncoupling or lifting the engine. Yanmar's stated diaphragm interval is five years; these legs are seventeen. That rubber is the only thing between the ocean and the inside of each hull, and there are two of them in two separate compartments. CatamaranSite records 1160 owners seeing 'wear issues with prop shaft lip seals on the SD20 sail drives'. LIVE CONTRADICTION ON THE PROPELLERS: the factory specification per CatamaranSite is 'Gori 3-blade propellers', Boating New Zealand describes 'two-blade folding props', and this listing says '2-blade bronze'. Fixed two-blade bronze is a knot of boat speed slower than folding Goris and is not what the boat was designed with. NOT stated: whether the March 2024 service included the diaphragms, saildrive oil condition, anode consumption rate, or whether the props are fixed or folding. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Saildrive with 2-blade bronze propellers”

    Seawind 1160 Catamaran Review — model reference“Yanmar 3YM30 engines paired with SD20 sail drives and Gori 3-blade propellers”

    Yanmar SD20 saildrive diaphragm seal service interval“The recommended change interval is 5 years. This was put in place a few years ago.”

  • Fuel tanks and systemlisting only

    95 gallons in 'two aluminum tanks', one per hull, undated and unmentioned in any refit block, so 2009 originals at seventeen years. Aluminium in itself is fine — Pascoe's position is that the failure mode is water trapped against the tank rather than the metal — but the mounting and chocking on this boat is undescribed. The architecture is what differs from every monohull in this file: two tanks feeding two engines in two separate hulls PLUS a Fischer Panda generator, with cross-feed, return and shut-off arrangements that nobody has described. Whether one engine can run off the other hull's tank is a live passage-planning question. Range is modest: 95 gallons on twin 30s at Cruising World's '6.4 knots at 2,600 rpm' does not motor across a large calm. NOT stated: tank material verification, mounting, any inspection ports, filtration beyond the engine-mounted filters, fuel polishing, or when the tanks were last opened. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Fuel Capacity: 95 gallons (two aluminum tanks)”

    Seawind 1160: Award-Winning Concept and Execution“6.4 knots at 2,600 rpm”

    How to Install an Aluminum Fuel Tank on Boat or Yacht“Properly installed, aluminum tanks will usually outlast the life of the boat.”

  • Electrical, AC and DClisting only

    A generation-old core with two good recent additions bolted to it. Present: 12V DC with shore power inlet, a 230-amp isolation switch, a DC switch panel with breakers, a Xantrex Freedom Marine 2000W inverter/charger, a battery charger, LED-era interior and courtesy lighting, navigation and deck floodlights, a masthead anchor light, and — new in March 2024 — solar panels with a Victron controller for $2,564. Also a Fischer Panda generator, described inconsistently as a new 5000 (5kW) from May 2024 at $23,688 and as a 7.5kW unit with 16.1 hours. THE SILENCE THAT MATTERS: the house battery bank is never described. Not the chemistry, not the capacity, not the age, not the make. On a listing that gives invoice numbers for a torsion cable, that is an answer rather than an omission. GENERIC GEAR ALREADY ABOARD: solar-panels-800w (WATTAGE UNKNOWN — do not zero), solar-controllers, solar-mounting. NOT ABOARD and therefore standing at full value: battery-300ah-x2, battery-monitor-distribution, alternator-regulator-dcdc, alternator-balmar-100a, electrical-install-labour. Note the catamaran multiplier on that last one: two hulls means roughly twice the cable run of a monohull, and every run crosses a structural beam. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Xantrex Freedom Marine 2000W inverter/charger”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“New solar panels with Victron charger, March 2024 ($2,564)”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“New Fischer Panda 5000 generator, May 2024 ($23,688)”

  • Battery banknot looked at

    NOTHING IS KNOWN, AND THAT IS THE FINDING. This is the only system in the entire workup where the listing offers not a single data point — no chemistry, no capacity, no make, no age, no location, no count. A charger is named, an inverter is named, an isolation switch is named by its amperage, solar and a Victron controller are named with a date and a price. The batteries they all connect to are never mentioned. On a boat this well documented the reasonable inference is that the bank is original-era or otherwise not worth advertising, and it should be modelled as absent. GENERIC GEAR NOT ABOARD: battery-300ah-x2 stands at full value, 600Ah, with the catamaran caveat that the bank has to be split or centrally located and cabled across two hulls, which is an installation problem a monohull does not have. Also standing: battery-monitor-distribution, because no shunt or monitor is named either. One consequence worth stating plainly: a fridge, a freezer, a 300 GPD watermaker, an autopilot with no windvane backup and a chartplotter all depend on a bank nobody has described. inferred

  • Steering gearlisting only

    The system with the most model-specific history and the least listing detail. What the listing says is 'Dual steering wheels (protected from weather)', 'twin steering compasses' and '360 degree visibility'. What owner sources say is that the original 1160 centre steering bracket rode on 'a single Ronstan Traveler Car', that Seawind subsequently moved the bracket 'from a vertical mount to a horizontal mount to reduce stress on the ball bearings', and that at least two 2008-hull owners have had trouble with the original arrangement — 'Seawind changing their design must indicate they have had a number of boats with an issue'. Practical Sailor records the original helm as heavy — 'it was much harder to turn the wheel than we liked' — later addressed with 'pull-pull cables to minimize friction', so which cable system this hull has is itself unestablished. NOT stated and NOT aboard: any emergency tiller or secondary steering arrangement. On a boat with two spade rudders and no windvane, the steering and its autopilot are a single chain with no mechanical fallback, and the catalogue's emergency-tiller line stands and needs respecifying for twin rudders. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Dual steering wheels (protected from weather)”

    Redesigning the Seawind 1160 Center Steering Bracket — SV Strikhedonia“The Seawind design had a single Ronstan Traveler Car to support the Steering Bracket.”

    Seawind 1160 Used Boat Review“it was much harder to turn the wheel than we liked”

  • Autopilot and self-steeringlisting only

    'Raymarine autopilot with remote control' is the entire record. No model, no generation, no drive unit, no year, and it does NOT appear in the itemised 2022-24 refit list, which places it between 2009 and 2022. THE CATAMARAN POINT THAT CHANGES HOW THIS LINE SHOULD BE READ: there is no mechanical self-steering fallback available on this boat and the catalogue's windvane lines should be STRUCK rather than costed. Windpilot — a vane manufacturer, and therefore a friendly witness — concedes that on a catamaran 'the pronounced shifts in apparent wind angle will leave the windvane steering system weaving back and forth all over the sea', and a transom-hung servo-pendulum has nowhere to mount on a boat with twin spade rudders, two saildrive legs and davits. So the electric pilot is the only self-steering, and redundancy has to be bought electrically — a second complete pilot, or a second drive — rather than mechanically. GENERIC GEAR ALREADY ABOARD, PROVISIONALLY AND CONDITIONALLY: autopilot-ev200 and autopilot-install, both contingent on the fitted unit turning out to be an offshore-grade pilot with an adequately sized drive. STRIKE: windvane-selfsteering, windvane-spares. ADD: a spare drive is not optional on this boat, it is the whole redundancy plan. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Raymarine autopilot with remote control”

    Catamarans and windvane self-steering“the pronounced shifts in apparent wind angle will leave the windvane steering system weaving back and forth all over the sea”

    Catamarans and windvane self-steering“catamarans can be steered very well indeed by a servo-pendulum system”

  • Hull and laminatelisting only

    A better-engineered structure than the price-per-foot suggests. Foam sandwich in vinylester, built as a five-mould monocoque — one twin-hull moulding, one deck moulding and three structural interior modules — with 'no bulkheads in the hulls', engineered by High Modulus of Auckland to 'maximise strength and rigidity'. That last fact is the one an unfamiliar surveyor will get wrong: on this boat there is no bulkhead tabbing to sound, because there are no bulkheads. Bridgedeck clearance 0.71m / 2.33ft, which produces 'some slamming when sailing upwind in choppy seas' but with owners reporting 'no structural issues'; the inboard hull flare adds 'enormous reserve buoyancy and extra lift' when pressed. Offshore record: 'An 1160 weathered a three-day storm in the Tasman Sea', and boats were delivered 'to Perth via the Torres Straits (a trip of 5000 miles)'. Bottom paint is two coats from March 2024, $3,382. THE HULL FACT THAT COSTS THE MOST MONEY IS THE BEAM, NOT THE LAMINATE — see the keel assessment below. NOT stated: hull identification number, grounding history, any prior survey, blistering history, or where the boat has spent its seventeen years. inferred

    Seawind 1160 — Boating New Zealand“no bulkheads in the hulls”

    Seawind 1160 — Boating New Zealand“enormous reserve buoyancy and extra lift”

    Seawind 1160 Used Boat Review“An 1160 weathered a three-day storm in the Tasman Sea”

    SEAWIND 1160 — sailboatdata“Construction: Foam sandwich/vinylester”

  • Keel and keel boltslisting only

    THE DRAFT GATE IS CLEARED BY A MILE AND THE REAL GATE IS SOMETHING ELSE. Draft is 3ft 9in on the listing, 3.61ft on Sailboatdata and Practical Sailor, 3'7" on Boat-Specs and 3'5" on Cruising World — deepest credible figure recorded as 3.75ft against a 6.5ft limit, so nearly three feet of margin and no deep/shoal variant to worry about. There is no keel in the monohull sense: the 1160 has fixed mini keels rather than daggerboards, described by Boating New Zealand as 'sufficiently robust to allow beaching', which removes keel bolts, keel joints, a keel smile and daggerboard cases as failure modes entirely. That is a real structural advantage and it is worth saying so. THE GATE THAT ACTUALLY BINDS IS BEAM. Berkeley Marine Center's travelift takes 'maximum beam of 15 feet'; KKMI Point Richmond 20'6"; KKMI Sausalito 20'. The listing, Sailboatdata, Practical Sailor and Boat-Specs all give 21'4" / 6.5m — which fits none of them. Cruising World and Boating New Zealand give 20'4" / 6.2m, which fits one. That one-foot disagreement between credible sources is the second-highest-impact open question in this file and it should be settled with a tape measure.

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Draft: 3.75 feet (max)”

    SEAWIND 1160 — sailboatdata“Draft (Max): 3.61 ft / 1.10 m”

    Seawind 1160 — Boating New Zealand“sufficiently robust to allow beaching”

    Berkeley Marine Center — Yard Rates“boats up to 30 tons in weight and maximum beam of 15 feet”

    KKMI — Boat Hauling & Loading“Max: Lift 88 Tons, Beam: 20'6"”

  • Rudder and bearingslisting only

    Twin spade rudders on skegs — an arrangement with a genuine offshore advantage over every monohull in this file, because a boat that loses one rudder still steers on the other. That advantage is entirely conditional on both being sound, and this is the model's best-documented weakness. The 1160's rudder bearings are bronze collars epoxy-bonded inside fibreglass tubes, two per rudder, four in the boat. On the 2008 sister ship SV STRIKHEDONIA the epoxy bond degraded and produced 'vibration when making a sharp turn' and 'a thunking noise when motoring'; all four had to be cut out with a reciprocating saw and replaced with custom-machined Delrin at 'material and machining $370'. Seventeen years is more than that boat had. NOT stated anywhere in the listing: the rudders are not mentioned at all — not their condition, not their bearings, not whether either has ever been dropped, and no moisture reading on either blade. The March 2024 haulout for bottom paint would have been the moment to check, and nobody says whether anybody did. inferred

    Seawind 1160 Deluxe — sailboat specifications“Unsinkable design with twin spade rudders and skegs”

    Rudder Bearing Removal on a Seawind 1160 — SV Strikhedonia“vibration when making a sharp turn”

    Rudder Bearing Installation on a Seawind 1160 — SV Strikhedonia“My cost for material and machining was $370.”

  • Deck, hardware and hull–deck jointlisting only

    Inventory: aluminium toe rail and 6 docking cleats plus a heavy-duty mooring cleat, side and transom access gates, a folding swim ladder, a cockpit shower, an integrated stainless gas grill in the aft rail, 'High-quality stanchions, bow/stern rails, 3 lifelines', an anchor roller under the forward beam, and — added March 2024 — solar mounting. The three things to inspect are catamaran-specific and none is in the listing: the TARGA ARCH FEET, because 'The main traveller mounts on the Targa arch' and therefore the whole mainsheet load lands on a foam-cored deck through those feet; the TRAMPOLINE ANCHORAGES on the forward beam and hull sides, cyclically loaded by green water; and the MARCH 2024 SOLAR MOUNTS, which are the newest holes in the oldest deck. GENERIC GEAR ALREADY ABOARD: solar-mounting. NOT marked aboard despite something being fitted: lifelines-guardrails — seventeen years old, material unstated, and 'high-quality' is a broker's adjective, not a specification. The catalogue line stands. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“High-quality stanchions, bow/stern rails, 3 lifelines”

    Seawind 1160 — Boating New Zealand“The main traveller mounts on the Targa arch with a one-sheet continuous system”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Anchor roller under forward beam”

  • Through-hulls and seacocksnot looked at

    Not one seacock, skin fitting or through-hull is mentioned anywhere in the listing, and nothing in the 2022-24 refit block touches them. Read as 2009 originals at seventeen years, at or past sensible service life for bronze. Inferred inventory from the equipment that must be plumbed: raw water for the Fischer Panda generator, two heads with intake and discharge, a galley double sink, a cockpit shower drain, a Spectra Catalina 300 watermaker feed, bilge discharges in each hull, and possibly a water-cooled freezer. Plus the two largest openings in the boat, which are not seacocks at all: the saildrive diaphragms. THE CATAMARAN POINT: these are distributed across two hulls that connect only through the saloon, so a fitting that starts weeping in one hull while the crew is in the other is neither seen nor heard, and a flooded hull on a catamaran is a stability event as well as a buoyancy one. GENERIC GEAR NOT ABOARD: damage-control-kit — and note the catalogue line says 'soft through-hull plugs for every skin fitting', which on this boat means two sets, one stowed in each hull. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Heads (2)”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“New Fischer Panda 5000 generator, May 2024 ($23,688)”

  • Plumbing, water tanks and headslisting only

    185 gallons of fresh water, a 32-gallon holding tank, hot and cold pressure water, two heads (an owner's private head and a guest head with shower), a cockpit shower, double stainless galley sinks, and a Spectra Catalina 300 watermaker producing 300 gallons a day. Water is not this boat's problem; hoses are, and there are roughly twice the runs of a monohull spread across two hulls, all of them seventeen years old and none of them in any refit block. A 32-gallon holding tank serving two heads is small for a year of anchoring in places with no pump-out. GENERIC GEAR ALREADY ABOARD: watermaker-rainman-12v, comfortably exceeded by the Spectra. GENERIC GEAR NOT ABOARD AND NEEDING RE-SPECIFICATION FOR THIS BOAT: bilge-pumps. The catalogue line assumes ONE bilge. This boat has two, in two hulls, not interconnected, and in a flooding event the crew may be unable to reach the other hull — so it needs a high-capacity electric pump AND a manual pump operable from inside EACH hull, roughly double the catalogue's assumption. That should be re-priced centrally rather than absorbed here. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Spectra Catalina 300 fresh water maker (300 GPD)”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Fresh Water: 185 gallons”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Holding Tank: 32 gallons”

  • Ground tackle and windlasslisting only

    Well-mounted, correctly located and materially under-specified for the destination. Present: a Muir HR1200 Cougar electric windlass with a 1000W motor on an anchor roller under the forward beam — which is the right place on a catamaran and a substantial Australian-made unit — with a 35lb CQR and 50 metres of 8mm short-link galvanised chain. GENERIC GEAR ALREADY ABOARD: windlass, and chain-300ft at fittedQuantity 164 (50m). NOT MARKED ABOARD, DELIBERATELY: primary-anchor. A 35lb CQR is two generations behind the catalogue's 25kg/55lb Rocna in holding power per kilo, and it is 20lb lighter, on a boat that will anchor in 20-25 metres over coral in the Tuamotus where the wind reverses with the squalls — a CQR is the classic anchor for dragging on a veer. It is fitted; it is not serviceable for this voyage; the line stands. Two further problems. The chain is 136ft short of the catalogue's 300ft, which on a cat with high windage and 25m anchorages is the wrong direction. And it is METRIC 8mm short-link on a gypsy machined for it, so it cannot simply be extended with US 5/16in G4 — see the small cost item for the gypsy. NOT stated: chain age, galvanising condition, any snubber or bridle, any secondary anchor. A catamaran anchors on a BRIDLE, not a snubber, and no bridle is mentioned. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Primary anchor: 35 lb CQR type”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Chain: 50 meters x 8mm short-link galvanized”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Electric anchor winch (Muir HR1200 Cougar, 1000W motor)”

  • Safety equipmentlisting only

    The thinnest system in the workup, and thin in the same pattern as the other candidates: what is aboard is electronic and what is missing is everything physical. Present and relevant: an ACR-class EPIRB is NOT mentioned, a liferaft is NOT mentioned, and the only safety-adjacent items in the entire listing are a folding swim ladder, side and transom access gates, and 'High-quality stanchions, bow/stern rails, 3 lifelines'. NOT EVIDENCED AND THEREFORE NOT MARKED ABOARD: liferaft-offshore-6p, epirb, grab-bag, medical-offshore, jacklines-tethers, lifejackets-harnesses, lifejacket-spares, plb-per-crew, flares-danbuoy, fire-safety, damage-control-kit, series-drogue, boarding-ladder-mob, deck-safety-sundries, lifelines-guardrails. Three of those lines need RE-SPECIFYING for a catamaran rather than simply pricing. Jacklines on a cat run along two hulls and across a bridgedeck, not bow-to-stern down one deck, and the tether geometry has to keep a person out of the water between the hulls. A Jordan series drogue on a catamaran needs a bridle to both transoms and correctly engineered attachment points in two hulls, which is a fabrication job, not a purchase. And fire extinguishers have to be duplicated per hull, because a fire in one hull is not reachable from the other except through the saloon — with a three-burner LPG range, an LPG grill in the aft rail, a diesel generator and two engine compartments, there is more to burn here than on a monohull. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“High-quality stanchions, bow/stern rails, 3 lifelines”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Marine-grade stainless steel gas grill (integrated into aft rail)”

  • Electronics and navigationlisting only

    Broad, undated and unlikely to be a system. Present: a Garmin multifunction display driving GPS plotter, radar and sounder; a Raymarine autopilot with remote; an Icom IC-M605 fixed VHF; an Icom M-802 SSB with a PTC PACTOR modem; an AIS transponder; wind speed and direction; log/speedometer; depth sounder; twin steering compasses. NONE of it is in the itemised 2022-24 refit block, so all of it predates 2022 and some of it is almost certainly 2009 original. THE ICOM M802 WITH A PACTOR MODEM IS THE MOST INTERESTING ITEM HERE and it is not in your catalogue at all: an SSB with Pactor gives offshore weather, email and a listening watch on the cruisers' nets across the whole Milk Run, with no subscription and no satellite dependency. It is genuinely valuable and it is also NOT a substitute for iridium-backup, because it has no SOS button and no two-way messaging to shore. GENERIC GEAR ALREADY ABOARD: chartplotter (model unknown), radar (type unknown — may be magnetron), instrument-pack, ais-transponder (class unknown), vhf-fixed-handheld (fixed half only). NOT ABOARD: iridium-backup, starlink-mini, nmea-backbone (deliberately not marked — a Garmin MFD, a Raymarine pilot and 2009-era instruments do not natively share a network), paper-charts-nav-backup, sextant-almanac, radar-reflector, emergency-vhf-antenna, ships-papers-flags. Marine Supplies Papeete covers both Garmin and Raymarine on the route. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“ICOM M 802 radio”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“PTC PACTOR mode modem”

    Marine supplies — Tahiti Cruisers Guide“Alex is the Raymarine warranty service / dealer for French Polynesia”

  • Canvas, dodger and coverslisting only

    Structurally better than any monohull in the file and with one large undocumented item. The cockpit is hard-covered and the targa arch shelters the helms — the listing says the dual wheels are 'protected from weather' — and the tri-fold saloon doors mean the covered cockpit 'join[s] seamlessly to her main salon'. A stack-pack and lazy jack system came with the 2022 Hood mainsail. THE ITEM NOBODY MENTIONS IS THE TRAMPOLINE, and on a catamaran it is not canvas trim, it is the foredeck and a fall-prevention structure. It is not in any refit block, so it is the 2009 original: seventeen years of UV on PVC-coated polyester mesh that Boating New Zealand already observed 'didn't seem to provide too much of a barrier to enthusiastic waves'. Mesh fails at the lacing edge and the seams, so it looks sound until it is not, and it is priced as a required cost item above. GENERIC GEAR NOT ABOARD: foredeck-awning. Note that on this boat the tri-fold-door cockpit already does much of what a shade awning is bought for, so that catalogue line may be reducible — but a boat at anchor in the Tuamotus still wants shade over the trampoline and the foredeck. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Tri-fold salon doors (seamlessly join cockpit to main salon)”

    Seawind 1160 — Boating New Zealand“didn't seem to provide too much of a barrier to enthusiastic waves”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Stack-pack and lazy jack system”

  • Windows, hatches and portslisting only

    '10 aluminum hatches/portholes', plus large saloon glazing, plus the tri-fold saloon door. Nine of the ten hatches are undated and therefore 2009 originals; the tenth was replaced in March 2024 — 'New Gebo deck hatch ($1,376)' — which is the most useful fact in this assessment, because a hatch gets replaced rather than re-bedded only when the frame or the pane is beyond saving. Seventeen years of California UV on acrylic and on hatch gaskets, followed by a tropical year. The design-specific item is the tri-fold door: it is the boat's signature feature, it 'folds up to stow overhead', and it is a large moving aperture in the aft face of the bridgedeck whose track, seals and stowage catch are a weather boundary in a following sea. NOT stated: hatch makes beyond the one Gebo, whether any others leak, whether the saloon glazing has ever been resealed, or whether any storm shutters or window covers exist — on a catamaran with a saloon largely made of glass at bridgedeck level, that last one is a real question and no monohull-derived checklist will ask it. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“New Gebo deck hatch, March 2024 ($1,376)”

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“10 aluminum hatches/portholes”

    Seawind 1160: Award-Winning Concept and Execution“folds up to stow overhead”

  • Dinghy and outboardlisting only

    The best-covered catalogue category on the boat and close to a clean sweep. A 2022 Achilles HB315DX RIB, 10ft 4in, with a 2022 Honda 9.9hp four-stroke, invoiced together at $9,930 — four years old at purchase, six at departure, and an almost exact match to the catalogue's 3.1m hypalon RIB and 9.9-15hp four-stroke. GENERIC GEAR ALREADY ABOARD: dinghy, outboard. Two things to confirm rather than assume: the tube fabric (Achilles are known for CSM/Hypalon but do sell PVC, and hypalon is what survives a tropical year), and the shaft length on the Honda. NOT ABOARD: dinghy-stowage and snorkel-dive-kit. Stowage is the interesting gap — the listing names no davits, no chocks and no lifting tackle, and a 10ft RIB has to live somewhere. On a catamaran that is normally transom davits between the hulls, which is both the easiest solution and the one that adds windage and weight right aft, where a cat least wants it. Ask what the boat currently does with the tender. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“2022 Achilles RIB dinghy (HB315DX 10'4") with 2022 Honda 9.9 hp outboard ($9,930)”

  • Interior and sea berthslisting only

    A three-stateroom 'owners version' layout — owner's suite in the port hull, guest cabin forward starboard, third cabin aft starboard, two queens and a double, two heads, one with a shower. Galley: three-burner LPG stove with oven and broiler (no gimbal needed on a cat, which is a real comfort), double stainless sinks, an Isotherm 12V refrigerator and a separate deep freezer, hot and cold pressure water. Saloon: teak and holly simulated flooring, a nav station with chart table, and the tri-fold doors. THE PASSAGE-MAKING PROBLEM WITH THIS LAYOUT IS NOT COMFORT, IT IS WATCHKEEPING. Three cabins in two hulls means the off-watch crew is down a hull and out of earshot, the nav station is in the port hull with limited visibility, and CatamaranSite records exactly that: the nav station 'placement in the port hull limits visibility'. A two-person crew on a three-week passage will actually live in the saloon and the cockpit. GENERIC GEAR NOT ABOARD: lee-cloths — and the catalogue line needs re-specifying, because on a catamaran the sea berths that matter are the saloon settees, not the hull cabins, and a cat's motion is a snappy lateral jerk rather than a monohull's roll, which needs a different restraint. CatamaranSite also warns that on this builder 'light fixtures, faucets and laminate surfaces can begin to show their age far sooner' than on heavier competitors. inferred

    2009 Seawind 1160 — Boat Trader listing 10272029“Cabins: 3 (owner's suite port hull, guest forward starboard, aft starboard)”

    Seawind 1160 Catamaran Review — model reference“light fixtures, faucets and laminate surfaces can begin to show their age far sooner”

    Seawind 1160 Catamaran Review — model reference“their lack of storage capacity”